s i x p e g s

fashion, music, fun, love and everything about my life.

Beer Market

with 17 comments

Screen Shot 2014-04-17 at 3.37.03 pm

Wednesdays are my favourite because I get a take a short break from the café operations and
catch up with my errands and use the free day to meet up with friends!
This time round, we headed over for some food and drinks at Beer Market at Clarke Quay.

Screen Shot 2014-04-17 at 3.37.10 pm

I’ve heard a lot about Beer Market before but have never ever been here.
I always hear my colleagues at The Tiramisu Hero mention about how
it’s really fun to watch the “stock exchange” screen for the prices of the beer and buy the booze
when the time is right.
I think it’s a really cool concept – especially for bargain-hunters and adventurous people who
don’t mind trying out different beers (at a good price!) *excited*

For those who are not sure about how the “stock exchange” works,
the prices of the beer actually fluctuates according to the sale of the beers.
The prices are adjusted every half an hour. So if a particular beer is very popular and
had good sales over the half an hour period, the prices will increase in the next time slot.
Similarly, prices will plummet for some beers too so it’s really interesting to just watch the “market”
for a while before placing your orders.

Screen Shot 2014-04-17 at 3.37.17 pm
Screen Shot 2014-04-17 at 3.37.24 pm

I know Beer Market must surely sell lots of different types of beer but
I didn’t know that they also have quite an extensive menu for savoury food and bar grubs!

Screen Shot 2014-04-17 at 3.37.30 pm
Screen Shot 2014-04-17 at 3.37.38 pm

If you can vaguely see from the picture above, there is actually Chicken Rice Pizza for sale!
Cool aye? We settled for the Salted Egg Seafood Pizza instead because
A and Lianie are big fans of anything salted egg.
It tasted awesome combining salted egg with a mayo base on a crispy thin crust.
Together with generous serving of seafood such as crab meat, tiger prawn and fish chunks,
it was totally satisfying!

Screen Shot 2014-04-17 at 3.37.44 pm

The folks at Beer Market Clarke Quay also recommended the fusion Beer Hor Fun, Rojak Platter and
the Seafood Shooters where you add in the new Tiger Radler into the shot glasses.
Interesting food pairing!

Screen Shot 2014-04-17 at 3.37.55 pm

The Seafood Shooters was a really unique food-pairing dish!
The shooters tasted so different with and without the Tiger Radler.
And the best thing is – they already tasted very nice before the beer went in,
but after the Radler, there was an interesting sweetness to the shooters and it really complements the food!

Screen Shot 2014-04-17 at 3.38.23 pm
Screen Shot 2014-04-17 at 3.38.35 pm

I LOVE the Beer Market Rojak Platter. All the bar grubs are available individually but
since we came in a bigger group, we reckoned it was more value for money to get a big platter!
Super yums!

Screen Shot 2014-04-17 at 3.38.49 pm

This is my favourite dish! Asian Hor Fun served in a French onion soup gravy combining western and local!
I didn’t know French onion soup can be used as the gravy! So amazing!

Screen Shot 2014-04-17 at 3.38.57 pm

This is the Beer Market No-Nonsense Steak and it is really no nonsense!
The beef was done beautifully and it was oh-so-tender! Sadly we wanted to try a variety of food
so we only ordered one serving. We ended up all fighting to get our hands on more steak! Haha!

Screen Shot 2014-04-17 at 3.39.14 pm

As for drinks, we all have our own favourites!

Screen Shot 2014-04-17 at 3.39.25 pm
Screen Shot 2014-04-17 at 3.39.33 pm
Screen Shot 2014-04-17 at 3.39.50 pm
Screen Shot 2014-04-17 at 3.39.57 pm

Oh did I also mention that we had one more ‘sister’ tonight? Hahaha.
Sinsin’s beau, LTK.

Screen Shot 2014-04-17 at 3.40.05 pm

You’re out with a group of lovely ladies. Why so gloomy. Haha!

The environment was great and there was also a live acoustic band performing while we were there.
I understand from the staff that there are live performances every night!
Totally dig places with live music! *thumbs up*

Screen Shot 2014-04-17 at 3.40.12 pm
Screen Shot 2014-04-17 at 3.40.19 pm

After the food was all cleared, we decided to end the meal with a couple of martinis.
I was thrilled to know that Beer Market do not serve only beer but also other cocktails,
spirits and even champagnes!

There are also many new beers like Double Chocolate Stout, Banana Bread Beer, Toffee Pudding Ale, Chilli Beer.
Yes you heard me right! Those are beers, not desserts! Interesting ya?
I guess one has to be gutsy enough to order a Chilli Beer. :p

For me, just a perfect Lychee Martini to end my night. :)

Screen Shot 2014-04-17 at 3.40.29 pm
Screen Shot 2014-04-17 at 3.40.43 pm

Thank you ladies for the great night out! Looking forward for more!

Screen Shot 2014-04-17 at 3.41.01 pm

– – –

On a sidenote, I’m also having a giveaway for tickets sponsored by MasterCard to watch
Shakespeare play, Merchant of Venice at Fort Canning on 4th May!

Screen Shot 2014-04-10 at 7.58.41 pm

Merchant of Venice and myself goes a long way back because it was my literature text
back during secondary school days!
Perhaps that is why I named the mascot of The Tiramisu Hero Sir Antonio and
always wished my Mom named me Portia instead of Peggy because the former is such a beautiful name! :p

I previously watched Macbeth at Fort Canning and it was such a priceless experience
being able to sip champagne and watch Shakespeare under the stars!

You may find out more about Merchant of Venice on the MasterCard Priceless Singapore site.

Screen Shot 2014-04-10 at 7.53.27 pm

Leave a comment at the end of this post (do include your name and email address)
and share with me your most priceless moment.
3 winners will be picked by 23rd April, each walking away with a pair of tickets to Merchant of Venice.

The show would be on 4th May 2014.

Join me for a play under the stars! :D

*For those who left the comments in the previous post, not to worry – your entries will still be valid.

Written by SIXPEGS

April 17, 2014 at 3:55 pm

Posted in Advertorials

17 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Hello Sixpegs! *FLEX*

    My most priceless moment is hearing my son’s cry after what felt like an eternity of pushing till my face turned purple (as described by hub)! Thou after taking one look at his head full of hair, I could only manage throw my head back and just breath while agreeing to everything the nurses & doctor said ‘cos it was soooo exhausting.. (at some point I honestly thought I was gonna die) LOL!

    PLEASE SEND THIS DRAMA QUEEN (& my 很久没一起”啪托”的KING) TO THE PLAY UNDER THE STARS!

    Thanks for reading! ;)

    Angie

    April 17, 2014 at 7:28 pm

  2. Hi Peggy,

    Simple pleasures can sometimes turn out to be the most priceless moments. For me, that is when I first laid eyes on the 2 kittens I adopted from CWS. After visiting a couple of foster families, I finally saw the 2 sweetest precious kittens from this malay foster family. Had the intention to adopt only 1 kitten initially, but I knew I could never bear to separate the 2 kittens(brothers!). They are now 2 years of age and never fail to put a smile on my face every single day. :’)

    Major introvert here and love nothing more than to stay home and play with my cats but a night out wouldn’t hurt and what’s better than a Shakespeare play?! :)

    Theresa

    April 19, 2014 at 12:00 am

  3. Hi Peggy!

    I’m 31 this year. Been through a traumatic breakup when i was 26 when i got married to a guy who had been cheating on me for all of the 3years we were together and managed to keep me in the dark the whole time. Not only did he break my heart terribly, i found out much later that he had been pocketing money from the sale of a car we co-owned and also managed to successfully borrow $20k from my parents which he lied to them that it was to help pay his family debts. My parents loved me so much they lent him the money, hoping he could settle his problems so we could get married. To this day, he’s not returned me any of the money he owed but his friends were so disgusted with his actions they admitted everything they knew to me.

    I have always believed i would find my one true love someday but i very nearly lost faith due to the above. I couldn’t bring myself to fall for anyone for 5years until i met my current boyfriend. When we met, he had already had plans to relocate to Australia for work. We kept in touch for 6months and MY MOST PRICELESS MOMENT was him telling me he has decided to turn down a really great job offer and move back to Singapore for me.

    Cutting the long story short, we’ve never been happier. I read your blog on the unconditional love between you and A, and am really moved to tears when i saw the proposal post. My boyfriend has also met my family and they love him as much as i do. It is no easy feat as they are really cautious after my bad experience, but you know how parents will eventually end up supporting their children in all ways they can.

    The boyfriend and i have also started a business together. People say it’s risky to go into business with your partner but I’ve found my soulmate and we complement each other so well that it’s a no-brainer to start something together that we are both passionate about. :)

    I would really like to bring him to watch The Merchant Of Venice under the stars. ;) If i don’t win, i would buy the tickets anyway…but just thought i would try my luck.

    Thanks for reading this lengthy post! I’ve nv commented on any blog posts before..didn’t realise i would end up typing so much!

    Kae

    April 19, 2014 at 1:34 am

  4. Hello Peggy!

    My most priceless moment would be when my parents cried at my graduation ceremony. Honestly, in my entire life, I never thought I would be able to achieve something that would make them so proud of. I have had a very rebellious past-running away from home, major fights with the parents, hating the sole existence of myself and everyone around me. To date, the painful memories are still etched deeply in my mind. It was only after I introduced to reading that I found myself, and gained the strength to live a purposeful life. Like you, I hope to be able to introduce my own cafe to the world, travel and learn with a smile. I hope that I’ll be able to gift my parents the tickets to the show, for they deserve nothing but the best, from a once broken child whom they have never given up on. :)

    Thank you for reading! <3 (P.S I love Mac&Cheese from The Tiramisu Hero!!!)

    Elaine

    April 19, 2014 at 11:43 am

  5. Hey Sixpegs!

    My most priceless moment is when I pushed away the curtains within the chapel of the Singapore Art Museum and gasp at the grandeur of the laser installation set in an interior of darkness. To soak in the mysterious aura of such a psychedelic work (and realising that nobody is around), I started to try singing out loud (my teacher said its good to interact with an artwork) “I will always love you”, just when I was reaching the climax, a little boy and a mother walked out of the other side of the installation. The boy was laughing and tried to get close but the mother was like “Don’t get near that Jiejie, she is shen jing bing!”.

    I felt so embarrassed I wished somebody walked in singing too and I could at least acted like there was an impromptu choir performance in the chapel.

    Hahaha! Thanks for reading and hope you can send me the tickets!

    Cheers!

    Diana

    April 19, 2014 at 2:02 pm

  6. Hello Peggy,

    The single most priceless moment was when I was atop the Grand Canyon along Arizona, camera in hand, sunscreen in the other. I took in a deep desert breath, savoured the light breeze and surveyed intricate layers of rock upon rock, marking the history of what had been, while signifying a future of what was to come. It was in that moment that I felt the universe was truly, possibly infinite and we as humans could be so insignificant in the scale of it all.

    I’d like to feel that awe lifting my heart again, while taking in a lovely Shakespearean play under the stars. Thanks for your consideration babe :)

    Aly

    April 19, 2014 at 3:01 pm

  7. Waking up in a shock and rushing to the bathroom to prepare for work. Storming around the house getting ready to leave, when my sister woke up and asked me why I was showering at 3am. I saw it as 6am.

    Melissa

    April 20, 2014 at 9:16 am

    • Melissa – HAHAHA! Happened to me before too!

      sixpegs

      April 20, 2014 at 4:13 pm

  8. Hi Peggy!

    I was a lit student and had so much fun doing literature in my ‘O’ levels! My text was Midsummer’s Night’s Dream – a whimsical and humourous play about 4 star-crossed lovers! This sparked off my interest in Shakespearean texts and I went on to read Macbeth, The Merchant of Venice and a few more books! I caught Macbeth 3 years back and it was such a wonderful experience – surrounded by equally enthusiastic lit lovers and the great acting put up by Wild Rice Production! I really hope to win this so that my secondary school friend and I can catch up on our good old literature days!

    Yu Ting

    April 20, 2014 at 4:07 pm

  9. My priceless and most precious moment was when my 2 year old niece who spent 6 months in the hospital and had to get a pacemaker when she was months old could do things the doctor said she could not do. He even said she would not be able to see well or hear cos of the bleeding in the brain due to complications but she passed all the tests recently! My sis has been a very strong woman, rushing to the hospital after work every single day for months. If i do win the tickets, i would want to bring this shining star of mine along. She is a gem.

    Rey

    April 20, 2014 at 9:48 pm

  10. We were in bed, just cuddling and having small chats before falling asleep when i felt something crawling over my hand. Being the paranoid girl i always was, i screamed and jumped out of bed, hoping that wasn’t a moving creature or of any sorts. When my boyfriend flipped the sheets, a cockroach jumped out!! I couldn’t be more creeped out till my boyfriend admitted he felt something crawling past his face twice but he thought it was just my hair haha…. talk about priceless moment! :B

    J

    April 21, 2014 at 12:26 am

  11. Hi Peggy!!!!
    My most priceless moment would definitely be when I travelled to Cambodia alone for 3 weeks and lived on a floating village on the Tonle Sap alone, with a very hospitable host from the village, on one of the nights I woke up to a sky filled with bright twinkling stars and a couple of shooting stars. The stars were like dancing lights, with occasional zooming flashes, I quickly scurried to make a wish the moment I saw the shooting stars. The sight was really indescribable, extremely breathtaking. The moment was made extremely epic because I was probably in my most humbled state (having not bathed for a week.. Hahah not that I didn’t want to but because of the lack of clean water), and yet the universe put up the prettiest show just for me, before my eyes, no need for fancy clothes, orchestras and all.

    I have always wanted to share that moment with my soulmate and I hope watching The Merchant of Venice under the stars this time can be our very own shared priceless moment :) after all, nothing is more blissful than sharing an amazing moment with the people that matter right?

    Eve

    April 21, 2014 at 8:04 pm

  12. My most priceless moment is opening a stashful of old handwritten letters from my best friend. Its been more than a decade and she’s still my person. We both grew up in an all girls school and literature was one of our favourite subjects because we were both dreamers. Till today, she’s the person i always choose to spent my time with. Our sleepovers always consist of talking about life and all our potential travel plans we have yet to full fill together. On our typical girl’s night, we will be watching a movie on our laptop whilst slurping cup noodles under the sheets. It will be lovely if we could swap our budget routine for champagne and a play under the stars, but i wouldn’t trade a thing for her because she is one of the most priceless person to me :)

    Charlotte

    April 22, 2014 at 4:26 pm

  13. Hi Peggy,

    My most priceless moment was when my favourite uncle who fought to live in his last days told me, “Michelle, you’re my best”. At that very moment, I cried. It was my last Father’s day spent with him and he passed away a few days later. Although he was just an uncle(not even blood-related, dad’s sister’s husband), he treated my sibling and me like one of his own. Sometimes, all what we have are just moments and memories that could be simple or dramatic, but all these are fleeting because we can never feel the same.

    michelle

    April 22, 2014 at 11:22 pm

  14. Hi Peggy! This is so cheesy but my most priceless moment was when I kissed this girl that I really liked. That moment was amazing and I will always remember her and the memories we shared.

    I really enjoy plays and musicals, but I’ve sadly not been to one yet. It would really be awesome to watch a play that I have studied come to life. And under the stars no less. I would love to win a pair of tickets to Merchant of Venice! Thanks for reading :)

    J

    April 23, 2014 at 12:30 am

  15. My most priceless moment was actually running over a live rat while cycling and my new friend actually proceed to run over the rat after i ran over it. It was priceless as we bonded over the “hit and cycle” accident and after many funny and happy moments, he’s now my other half.

    Eilleen

    April 23, 2014 at 3:46 pm


Leave a Reply

