s i x p e g s

fashion, music, fun, love and everything about my life.

Set Yourself on Fire

with 2 comments

Screen shot 2012-06-22 at PM 06.34.00

WHEN THERE’S NOTHING LEFT TO BURN, YOU HAVE TO SET YOURSELF ON FIRE.

I’m here today to introduce this amazing album from Stars that I’m hopelessly addicted to.
The first song I heard from this album is the track called Calendar Girl.
After hearing that this Indie band has many other songs that is worth a listen,
I checked out their third album named “Set Yourself On Fire” and I was blown away!

The songs in the album is all about love and life.
Pretty much brings us through the different stages of life and of a relationship.
Here are some of the songs that I particularly love.

“Your Ex-Lover is Dead” is about meeting an ex-lover again after a long time.
I like how they described every emotion through small details.
Here are the lyrics to the song:

God, that was strange to see you again
Introduced by a friend of a friend
Smiled and said, “Yes, I think we’ve met before”
In that instant it started to pour

Captured a taxi despite all the rain
We drove in silence across Pont Champlain
And all of that time you thought I was sad
I was trying to remember your name

This scar is a fleck on my porcelain skin
You tried to reach deep but you couldn’t got in
And now you’re outside me, you see all the beauty
Repent all your sin

It’s nothing but time and a face that you’ll lose
I chose to feel it and you couldn’t choose
I’ll write you a postcard, I’ll send you the news
From the house down the road from real love

Live through this and you won’t look back
Live through this and you won’t look back
Live through this and you won’t look back

There’s one thing I have to say so I’ll be brave
You were what I wanted
I gave what I gave
I’m not sorry I met you
I’m not sorry it’s over
I’m not sorry there’s nothing to save
I’m not sorry there’s nothing to save

“The Big Fight” is another song that caught my attention with its addictive melody and intriguing lyrics.
It’s a duet between the two parties in the relationship, both torn about their breakup.
It reflects a lot on the real-life situations many of us are, or were once in.
Breakup with strings attached.
It’s always hard to get over the issues that causes the relationship to crumple.

“One More Night” is about break up sex.
She loves and hates him.
Is she really making love because of love or because of the memories they once shared?
How does one make love knowing it will be the last time?
I took the liberty of doing a cover of this beautiful song.
Haunting and so raw. I love this song.

“Calendar Girl” is the song that led me to the band.
This song is all about surviving everything life puts one through and finding oneself.
I did a cover for this too! Hope you like it.

Before you die from bleeding ears, here is “Your Ex-Lover Is Dead” by Stars.
TGIF and have a great weekend ahead!

Peace xx

Written by SIXPEGS

June 22, 2012 at 9:01 pm

2 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. I love Calendar Girl to bits too! And you have a sweet voice, I totally did not die from bleeding ears. :-) On a side note, dyou learn ukulele by yourself?

    Breana

    June 24, 2012 at 12:58 pm

  2. I love your covers! your voice is very unique (: just wondering if the strumming pattern you used for the previous video, zombie was: DDDUDDUDUD?

    Faith

    July 1, 2012 at 7:04 pm


Leave a Reply

