s i x p e g s

fashion, music, fun, love and everything about my life.

Bangkok III

with 6 comments

I am back with another entry about my Bangkok trip!
This is the third and last post about this recent trip though,
and it feels as if I am on the trip and it is ending all over again.
Boo.
I miss the Land of Smiles already!

For this last entry, I want to share one of my favourite night markets in Bangkok!
But before that, here are some pictures taken during our anniversary dinner there.
It’s our first year together and we decided to just spend it like any other day.
We had dinner at the 9th Cafe in Siam Paragon.
It’s just a simple looking cafe but the food was pretty good!
(The food is nice everywhere in Bangkok lah!)

IMG_0934

This is my lady’s ‘happy smile’.

IMG_0933

IMG_0928

IMG_0927

IMG_0929

The food! A likes her western food and my heart has long been stolen by Thai cuisine.

IMG_0932

IMG_0931

After dinner, we went down to our favourite dessert haunt Vanilla Brassiere
and bought a tiny Tiramisu cake before we head back to the hotel.

IMG_0921

IMG_0922

IMG_0923

IMG_0924

A says this cake is made for us because it looks like a boob. LOL!

IMG_0925

IMG_0926

It was our first time to Rot Fai Night Market and we were being punked by the damn taxi driver who took us there!
Rot Fai Night Market is just walking distance from the famous Chatuchak Weekend Market,
but because we went to the night market from the town area, we had to take a taxi instead.

The bloody driver dropped us in front of a WET MARKET and told us it was Rot Fai Market.
I was so pissed when I got off the cab.
Fortunately with the directions from some kind Thai youngsters, we managed to walk to Chatuchak Market.
And from there, we walked to Rot Fai Night Market with a stream of people who were also walking there from Chatuchak.

So if you’re going there, do remember that you can actually walk to Rot Fai from Chatuchak!
I know I didn’t blog much about Chatuchak Weekend Market although I went there on my trip.
Well everyone knows about Chatuchak, isn’t it? Haha.
But for those who are going to Bangkok soon, just a reminder to check out Section 3 in the market!
My favourite section other than the pets section.

I love this night market because the mood there was just awesome!
It was really crowded but the people there are all hip and fun looking.
Lots of interestingly dressed people and all the stuff on sale there are really cute too!

Most of the stalls are operated out of vintage cars or cute looking mini vans.
Vintage furnitures, vintage clothes, vintage knick knacks, you can find almost anything vintage down there.

IMG_0936

IMG_0938

IMG_0939

IMG_0940

IMG_0942

IMG_0941

IMG_0947

IMG_0944

IMG_0937

I love these really cute furnitures on sale there!
Suddenly wish I already have my own home so I can start buying all these gems home!
So so cute. I have to go back to Bangkok to buy furnitures for my home in future!

IMG_0948

Look at these cases!

IMG_0946

IMG_0945

Seats made from a bath tub!

IMG_0943

And more pictures! Look at all the funky people selling funky things,
and funky people buying funky things!
Everyone looks fun there. Heh!

IMG_0949

IMG_0950

IMG_0951

Vintage toys on sale too!

IMG_0952

And I LOVE that microphone this dude is using!

IMG_0953

IMG_0954

There are bars and eating places operating from a vehicle.
Lots of them littered all around the night market actually.
I also spotted a couple hippie looking young people sitting around eating and chatting while tending to their stalls.
I’m amazed by how they can make the whole place look so cute with just a few decorative items!

IMG_0955

IMG_0956

We had our dinner there as well!
In this place called Rod’s. It’s one of the more done-up eating place around there but we were sold when we saw the decor.
Very cute!
There was live music in there while you dine too.
No air con though. I was so happy it was at night so it wasn’t too warm in there.
Sorry if the pictures are a little dark!

IMG_0957

IMG_0958

IMG_0960

IMG_0959

I guess this pretty much concludes my Bangkok trip.
I was scrolling through the pictures I took when I was there and I chanced upon pictures of our favourite Thai dishes!
DROOL ALREADY LAH!
Basil leaves minced chicken with fried egg & stew pork rice with egg.
They are so yummy…

IMG_0961

IMG_0962

I am usually not a huge shopaholic when I’m in Bangkok.
Didn’t really buy so many things that I can lay everything out on the bed and take a photo of all the junk I bought.
So here are some of the cute little knick knacks I bought on this short trip.

IMG_0964

IMG_0965

IMG_0963

IMG_0239

IMG_0238

Bought some clothes and usual singlets and stuff. Not worth mentioning.
Hahahaha.
To all those who are going to Bangkok soon, you have one jealous person here who is green with envy!
Hope you guys like my mini Bangkok Report!

Will be back tomorrow with more updates!
Sindy is getting married SOON!!!
In less than two weeks’ time actually, and the girlfriends are all crazy with the preparations and stuff.
Weeee!!!

Be right back with more stories, pictures and nice cafes to recommend! <3

Written by SIXPEGS

May 16, 2012 at 1:16 pm

Posted in Travels

Tagged with , , , ,

6 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. OMG, your mini BKK report is totally timely! hehehe.
    am going over next week!
    the night market is damn cool…:O how did you discover it?
    and where did you get your skull bracelet btw? CTC?

    huishan

    May 16, 2012 at 3:09 pm

  2. hi peggy, can I ask if there are things to shop at Terminal 21? or only interesting to see? if there is, what’s the price range? TIA! :)

    S

    May 16, 2012 at 11:44 pm

  3. Peggy, can i check, where did u get the skull bracelet?

    Trace

    May 17, 2012 at 10:51 pm

  4. Hi Peggy,

    THank you for all your BKK posts! I’m planning the itinerary for a BKK trip this June and would like to ask you about how did you get to those cool cafes/restaurants/hotels?! Are they far away from the city/platinum mall?

    Thanks much!

    cjm

    May 17, 2012 at 11:56 pm

  5. huishan – that’s awesome to know! :D i found out about the night market from online forums! I was lucky too. :p The skull bracelet is from rot fai night market :)

    S – there are a lot of nice things to buy AND SEE at Terminal 21. Not very expensive so not to worry too! Maybe 300baht for a pair of simple heels?

    Trace – I like your name! Very cute! I got the skull bracelet from Rot Fai night market in Bangkok. :)

    cjm – You’re most welcome! :D I knew of those places from friends and forums etc. All are within the town area!

    sixpegs

    May 28, 2012 at 8:24 pm

  6. Omg! I love your unicorn ring! May I know which part of bkk u have gotten it from?

    Amnda

    July 11, 2012 at 3:55 pm


Leave a Reply

