s i x p e g s

fashion, music, fun, love and everything about my life.

Cambodia 2011 – Tonle Sap & Kompong Phluk

with 26 comments

Screen shot 2011-06-30 at 12.51.32 AM

This entry concludes my recent trip to Cambodia.
The trip has indeed been very, VERY fun and memorable.
I wanna go back there!
The two hotels we stayed in were totally awesome too.
For those who are looking at visiting Siem Reap soon, the hotels are Tara Angkor and Hotel de la Paix.
I haven’t got any pictures of the first hotel, but here are some shots of Hotel de la Paix.
Awesomest!

P6183687
P6183688
P6183689
P6183690
P6183691
P6183694
P6183693
P6193696

A and I did some research before the trip and read about this Kompong Phluk place and decided to check it out.
The day spent on the Tonle Sap river and in Kompong Phluk was filled with mixed emotions.
Kompong Phluk is about 2 hours away from the main jetty, and the only way to get there is by boat.
And as some of you probably know, I can’t swim and is somewhat hydrophobic.
And A keep scaring me even before we set off to Kompong Phluk,
telling me “many people died in this river”.
*sweats*

I can still remember the dragonboat accident that happened few years ago.
5 dragonboaters lost their lives to the Tonle Sap river.
Even these athletes, supposedly strong swimmers cannot beat the forces of nature,
if I drop into the water… That’s it lor.

Anyway, allow me to show you some pictures of Tonle Sap.
There are many boat houses along the two sides of the river.
I cannot imagine how they can actually cope with living in a tiny house built on a boat or a floating platform.
We should really feel fortunate that we have a proper roof over our heads,
water easily available once you turn on the tap, and generally a clean and comfortable environment to live in.
That said, the people here looked pretty contented with what they have.
While cruising down the river, we were actually greeted by quite a number of warm smiles and waves.
That really made my day. :)

P6193711
P6193716
P6193792
P6193712
P6193706
P6193789

As I have mentioned, it took us about 2 hours to get to Kompong Phluk.
The boat ride was about 65USD per pax after some bargaining.
Well, but it was all worth it because Kompong Phluk is a charming little village
with interesting wooden houses built on super high stilts.
The people there were generally smiley and friendly, and made us feel really welcomed.
All you could see there are simple, happy-looking people sitting around weaving fishing nets,
cooking, sitting around and lots of kids running around.
It was a nice change from the typical scene we see in the town area of Siem Reap.

P6193722
P6193724
P6193727
P6193728
P6193733

Don’t you agree with me that some of the houses there are actually really cute looking? Heh.
We walked around the town a little and saw a few kids running around playing.
As A and I approached them for a picture, they actually posed for us! Super cute!
When I showed them the shots I took on my camera, they went totally excited!

Picture 12
P6193738
P6193739
P6193743
P6193747
P6193739-1
P6193751
P6193726
P6193729

Just as we were leaving the village to get back to our boat, we saw another group of kids!
I saw this two young girls with funky hairdos and decided to take a picture of them.
And as we started the photo-taking session, the kids got all hyped up and excited again.
It was a great deal of fun playing with them!
This were the two girls whose hair caught my attention.

P6193760
P6193763
P6193776

We wanted to take a picture with the kids but the boys keep photo bombing!
Ok, the fact is we were just trying to take photos with the girl in pink.
Her name is Tidah or something, I’m sure I spelt it wrongly.
But as the number of attempts increased, the number of people in the photo increased too.
Hahahaha. And before we know it, it was damn crowded.
The boys are really damn good at photo bombing!

P6193780
P6193779
P6193781
P6193782
P6193783
P6193778

There was also an “A Amusement Park” going on over there.
You can watch some action here!

P6193785

I should thank the kids for giving me such fond memories of Kompong Phluk. ♥

The boat ride back to the dock was a whole different story.
Storm clouds started gathering just minutes after we left the Kompong,
and before we know it, we were in the middle of a heavy rain.
Choppy waters, sorry, it’s dirty, murky, unfriendly-looking choppy waters!
Rainwater was coming in from the sides of the not-very-trusty looking boat and all.
I WAS SCARED SHITLESS!

Stupid A kept laughing at me at first (and even took a video of me freaking out)!
But don’t worry, you will never get to see that video.
Ok back to the storm, it was scary man!
I mean, I’ve never been caught in a storm in a rocky boat before.
And as the rain got heavier, the skipper told us that we should wear the buoyancy vests on the boat.
And for your information, those vests were just chucked near the roof of the boat
like it has been there for the last 7,8 years.

I WAS REALLY SCARED SHITLESS.
I didn’t even dare to shift my backside.
All I remembered was that I was constantly on a lookout on whether we’re nearing the dock
while holding A’s left hand super tightly.
Fortunately, we got out of the rain after like 7 hours later.

I’m glad I’m still alive.

Written by SIXPEGS

June 30, 2011 at 1:34 am

Posted in A, Travels

Tagged with , , , ,

26 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. do you mind if i ask, is A your gf?

    Anon

    June 30, 2011 at 8:49 pm

    • Anon – yeah.

      sixpegs

      July 1, 2011 at 11:16 am

  2. seems like a memorable trip! glad u had fun! more to come i hope!

    xin

    July 1, 2011 at 3:15 pm

  3. Hi there! Awesome pics… Your gf and you look awesome together :)

    Can I ask what camera are you using?

    Molly

    July 1, 2011 at 4:06 pm

  4. happy times ahead! <3

    lotsalove

    July 1, 2011 at 6:51 pm

  5. oops… sorry, dont mean to probe.. but its time to update your link page? :D

    ann

    July 2, 2011 at 11:48 am

  6. I was in Cambodia in 2008 and I really enjoyed the trip, glad I convinced my parents to do a family trip there because my family is one that doesn’t like to step out of the comfort zone :)

    Jasmine

    July 2, 2011 at 2:31 pm

  7. Hey! Awesome pics you have there! Just to ask, what software did you use for your title- The “Cambodia, Memories of Tonle Sap and Kom Pong Phluk” with a splash of colours? Thanks! & you’re def looking great:D

    chocolatey

    July 2, 2011 at 8:17 pm

  8. Are you and buttons still tgt?

    Re

    July 3, 2011 at 3:11 pm

  9. Hey Pegs, love ur white watch! May I know what brand/ model is that?

    Janice

    July 3, 2011 at 6:03 pm

  10. i think you’ve a good eye. ur pictures are awesome!

    bebe

    July 4, 2011 at 10:23 am

  11. xin – it was a good trip. thanks xin.

    molly – thanks! i was using the olympus EP1.

    lotsalove – thanks love!

    ann – ooohhh. thanks for pointing out. will get down to that soon!

    jasmine – that’s great girl. i’m sure you had a lot of fun there with your family too! this recent trip to cambodia totally changed my impression of the country too.

    chocolately – thanks babe!

    Re – Buttons and I are not together anymore.

    janice – the white watch is not mine. i’ll ask A later. Heh!

    bebe – thanks for the compliment! i’m glad you like the pictures too! :)

    sixpegs

    July 4, 2011 at 12:54 pm

  12. Nice pics there! As an avid fan of your blog, I was just wondering why Button was missing in your recent blogs…

    Geoff

    July 7, 2011 at 12:59 pm

    • Geoff – Thanks! We broke up..

      sixpegs

      July 7, 2011 at 2:59 pm

  13. Aiyo the kids are so cute!!!!
    Also love your yellow pants/skirt :B
    xo!

    Shinna

    July 9, 2011 at 4:04 pm

  14. hello pegs, dun mean to be nosy. but are u sure u are dumping buttons for a les?

    I mean have u really thought thru or was it some short term “freshness”? think abt it, u are not exactly old but neither young. n i really thought buttons could be ur last. he seems almost perfect for u. :(

    hellopasserby

    July 9, 2011 at 11:17 pm

    • hellopasserby – i know i’m at the age where I should be settling down. Buttons is a good person. But we are just not right for each other. I mean, I’ve tried. For every relationship that I have, I hope that it will be the last. Who doesn’t right? He is a good person, but we still aren’t compatible in several ways. And these differences are those that we cannot compromise.

      sixpegs

      July 10, 2011 at 1:05 am

  15. hey pegs, *hugs* from an old friend :)

    Raf

    July 10, 2011 at 3:47 pm

    • Raf – thanks rafiq. :)

      sixpegs

      July 10, 2011 at 6:08 pm

  16. hihi, i think i m really nosy. i understand that u’ve tried, no doubts abt that. i mean i m not u, i prob wouldn’t understand wat u guys went thru. n pls get me right i m not promoting buttons here. :)

    hmmm…my point was…do u really see an future to wat u have now? was it just a transitional period that u needed a new company? it turned out to be a bit of shock to me (just a anonymous reader) that u’ve turned les at an age of mid 20s. in time to come, i m pretty sure u’ll come to another where u cant work out the differences again. just a vicious cycle. it’s how determined 2 people want to work things out.

    anyway i’ve always like reading ur blog, v informative & happening. and i realy hope u’ll be as happy as u used to be. hope u’ve really thought all these true and enjoy love in a mature way.

    hellopasserby

    July 10, 2011 at 6:58 pm

    • hellopasserby – I appreciate your concern and well wishes. Really. Sometimes, I wish I knew what the future brings too. It doesn’t matter to me whether I’m mid 20s or mid 30s or still in my teens. At times, I really think that people like me will never be happy and will probably die alone and sad in future. But until that happens, I’m gonna at least try to make everyday worth living, and to tell myself that I am free to love and deserve the right to be happy everyday.

      I learn something about love and about myself in every relationship.

      sixpegs

      July 10, 2011 at 7:05 pm

  17. there’s a future in everything if you believe in it.
    what’s the difference in “future” between being with a male or female? What matters most is you love and are loved.

    There’s no guarantee anyone can give you a “future”, much less a man. The only thing man can give is kids, and with that not even all man are capable.

    If kids is what defines the future I guess many out there are narrow sighted.

    lotsalove

    July 11, 2011 at 11:53 am

    • lotsalove – I agree with you. Just wanna be happy.

      sixpegs

      July 13, 2011 at 2:07 am

  18. hi peggy!
    I just bought a olympus pen from groupon, super good deal! just wondering, what mode do you use usually? :)

    joelle

    July 13, 2011 at 7:39 pm

    • joelle – GREAT! I know of another person who just got that deal too. :) I use Pinhole mode.

      sixpegs

      July 13, 2011 at 7:58 pm

  19. Hi Sixpegs

    Why did you say that a person like you will never be happie?I feel so sad for you after reading that statement! I am very sure that many readers share the same sentiment as me and want you to be happy.You are such a lovely girl with a great personality and also a promising future ahead of you….please take care, okay?

    ann

    July 21, 2011 at 9:42 am


Leave a Reply

