s i x p e g s

fashion, music, fun, love and everything about my life.

Beijing II

with 8 comments

Picture 1
PC162059-1

To be honest, Beijing (or China actually) is not really on the top of my “Places to go to” list.
But I’m still glad I had the opportunity to visit Beijing because it can be quite a fun place to be in.
Forbidden City was great. And 天坛, The Temple of Heaven is an absolutely gorgeous place too.
The Chinese food there was really good. I live for the Chinese dumplings and handmade noodles.
I’m such a sucker for carbs. Haha!

Buttons and me stayed in Ibis Hotel for my first few days there because that hotel was more affordable.
But seriously, you pay peanuts and you get monkeys.
The bathroom in our room smells like sewer all the time.
The water is barely warm. And it can be quite a torture to bathe in that kind of weather.
There is no fridge in the room.
And there are no English movies on TV! Horrible.
The only thing bearable about the hotel was the location and that there is a good cafe just under the hotel.

So I managed to convince Buttons that we should move to a slightly better hotel.
After 3 long days at Ibis Hotel, we shifted to Novotel at 王府井.
The location is awesome and so is the room!
It’s surprisingly cheap too! Only S$130 odd per night. :)

PC172072-1
PC172076-1
PC172075-1

There is this short food street near our hotel too!

PC172081-1

I gotta love these trusty boots I bought when I was there.
They are so comfortable to be in and they really kept me warm. Heh.

PC172078-1
PC182085-1

Buttons accompanied me to 天坛 on one of the last few days in Beijing.
I’ve been looking forward to this place because
a friend of mine told me that this is one of her favourite spots in Beijing.
Now I can totally understand why she said that.
This place is different from the Forbidden City. There is a lot of activities going on here.
And all the folks here look very happy and cheerful.
Along the long walkway into the temple itself, there are a lot of old folks gathered around playing cards or chess.
So cute right? :p

PC182089-1
PC182088-1

We also saw buskers, and a huge group of people gathered around singing and dancing.
But what caught our attention was this old man who was writing calligraphy on the ground.
We stood around to watch him do his magic and started chatting with him.
It got really fun when he started writing riddles in both Chinese and English for us to solve.
He was actually a retired journalist who now spends most of his time in the park.

PC182091-1
PC182095-1
PC182096-1
PC182100-1
PC182099-1

And this is his way of welcoming us. :)

PC182097-1
PC182098-1

There was also this other old man who was standing around who later took the brush and started writing!
His breath reeked of alcohol and he blabbered a lot of random things to us when we were there.
But when he started writing, we were all amazed!
He could write in reverse! And the characters were all quite beautiful too!

PC182101-1

It says “中国北京天坛公园欢迎您”. Such nice people! :)
天坛 is a really gorgeous place.

PC182108-1
PC182121-1
PC182105-1
PC182126-1
PC182125-1
PC182116-1
PC182113-1
PC182138-1
PC182114-1
PC182139-1

It was really really cold that day! And no we weren’t smoking in these pictures!
Poor Buttons’ lips are so dry. Brrr! Looking at these pictures makes me feel very cold already. Haha.

PC182130-1
PC182135-1

Then we also saw this sign placed in a corner at the park.
Seriously, I don’t know why they bother making this sign because I saw people doing all the things that are listed.
Hahaha!

PC182127-1

And with this, I shall end this post about my Beijing trip.
I wish I had the time and opportunity to do and see more when I was there.
But I’m sure there will be another opportunity for me to go back there again. :)
I love travelling and I hope I have the opportunity to trot around the whole world!
I hope I get to go Europe soon.

Written by SIXPEGS

December 26, 2010 at 4:06 pm

Posted in Travels

8 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. I hope to go Europe soon too. My dream place :)
    may urs materialize soon!

    Sharon

    December 27, 2010 at 2:35 am

  2. Sharon – hope we’ll both get to go there!

    sixpegs

    December 27, 2010 at 11:24 am

  3. do u prefer ur olympus pen or ur canon eos?

    grace

    December 27, 2010 at 8:09 pm

  4. This reminds me of my trip to beijing 3 years back..I really miss beijing..

    Jane

    December 28, 2010 at 11:02 am

  5. Hi, May i know where you got your boots from?

    audrey

    December 31, 2010 at 1:47 am

  6. lol well fuck you china doesn’t like you either

    ji

    January 30, 2011 at 12:10 pm

    • ji – LOL!

      sixpegs

      January 30, 2011 at 2:50 pm

  7. Hi, chanced upon your blog by chance and found your posts very interesting. A hotel suggestion for your next trip to Beijing; try The Opposite House at Sanlitun. Awesome interior design and based on what I’ve read of your travelogs, probably resonates with your style.

    YW

    December 28, 2012 at 1:03 pm


Leave a Reply

