s i x p e g s

fashion, music, fun, love and everything about my life.

Don’t let there be a second prison.

with 7 comments

As most of you would already know by now, I’m currently working in JobsCentral.
We are actually the Official Job Partner at the Yellow Ribbon Run 2010, and wow, I’m really proud to be part of it.

It was the first time I set foot into the Changi Prison and it was quite an eye-opener for me to be honest.
I always thought the prison would be a very exciting and dangerous place,
where the offenders would sometimes go on strikes, or try to escape and stuff (too much Prison Break!)
On the contrary, it is actually a very peaceful and almost-too-depressing place to be in.
It made me feel very uncomfortable to be scrutinized by the officers at almost every checkpoint.
Well, but all that were necessary I guess.

I had to be at Changi Prison at 7am that day and it was really quite a feat for me to get up that early.
To make things worse, IT RAINED!
You know how SHIOK it is to sleep on rainy mornings or not. Sigh.

I was super tired that morning that I wore my shorts inside out all the way from home to the prison.
Super embarrassing.
Okay, that’s just some random throw face moments I had.

But now that after the entire event was over, I’m glad I was at least a small part of it.
It is somewhat encouraging and inspirational (amidst the occasional depressive moments)
to hear the voices of the offenders through the paintings they did.
Freedom is truly priceless.

Well, as for JobsCentral, our job was pretty simple.
Just go there, set up a booth, and get the visitors at the post-run carnival to participate in the activities we had.
Despite the rain, the runners and other visitors were spontaneous and fun people to hang out with.
I had a lot of fun! :p

Check out the JobsCentral’s bear, cute hor? Heh!

These are some of my colleagues and the participants!

And being me, I seek pleasure from the little surprises I find around me.
And at this fair, I thought I saw ‘Carrie’. Heh! :p
I asked this Sarrah if that was her real name and she said it is!
Coooollll shiatsss!!!!
Hahahaha.

I didn’t really have to time to take much decent pictures because I need to appear hardworking :x
Hahaha!
Here’s the one and only picture I took that day with our ex-intern, Jessica.
And of course, my wrinkled and ‘pruny’ toes after being in the rain for the entire morning.

Random thought –
When I was walking into the prison that morning, I looked at the cell windows, and I saw a guy waving at me!
I wanted to wave back but I cannot explain why I didn’t. I guess I was a little intimidated by the environment.
And till now, I still kinda regret not waving back…
I could have made that person feel better, even just by a little bit.

Well, whatever it is, the prison is really a very depressing place to be in.
We should really cherish the freedom we have.
And give ex-offenders another chance to give it another shot. :)

Of course, I went to Buttons’ place after the run (because it was nearby) and totally crashed.
It really sucks being caught in the rain for the entire morning.
And not surprisingly, I was down with a fever and flu the following day. Bleah!

Here are some random pictures I took yesterday at Esplanade when I was with Buttons.

Buttons and I had a list of 5 things that we wanna do together.
And because we are such huge procrastinators, we only managed to do the 4th of the 5 things today!
For your information, the five things we wanna do together is:
(1) Go overseas together

(2) Go to the beach together

(3) Go roller blading together

(4) Walk the tree-top trail together (NOOOOO!!!!!)

(5) Do a flea market together (WE FINALLY DID IT!)

We had such a great time at our first flea market! :D
Will blog about it soon, so do remember to stay tuned.
It was really nice to meet Beatrice and Wenqing there, and to have my mom and aunt visit us at the booth.
Special thanks for the super friendly blogshop owners I met over there!
You girls are too sweet! <3

Written by SIXPEGS

September 12, 2010 at 3:37 am

Posted in Events

Tagged with , , ,

7 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. yaaaayyyy we successfully concluded our FIRST flea market foray! :D

    buttons

    September 12, 2010 at 3:48 am

  2. i was there yesterday noon with my husband! i saw u, ur mama and ur bf! wanna say hi but kinda paisey! lol anyhow i hope the sales was good!

    jean

    September 12, 2010 at 10:28 am

  3. ah gua! You sold hello kitty stuff too??? Aiya, should have went! Hahahah.

    Jo

    September 12, 2010 at 1:33 pm

  4. i was thr to do a self collection from 1 of the bs. i saw buttons while taking a tour of the place but didnt manage to see u! buttons is so much skinnier in real life!! haha (:

    c.

    September 13, 2010 at 12:11 am

  5. buttons – yes we finally did it! :D

    jean – haiyo no need to be paiseh la! :p Sales wasn’t too bad! Heh thanks!

    Jo – hahaha. you like kitty too? :p

    c. – I must be hanging around the place. Yeah lor. Buttons is very skinny one. He’s too stressed at work I think. Need to feed him more! Raa! Haha.

    sixpegs

    September 13, 2010 at 5:42 pm

  6. Hi! May I know what programme did you use for the header? (Don’t let there be a second prison) It’s really nice and neat :)

    ywen

    September 14, 2010 at 11:45 pm

    • ywen – heh thanks! but it’s trade secret. lol.

      sixpegs

      September 15, 2010 at 10:18 am


Leave a Reply

