s i x p e g s

fashion, music, fun, love and everything about my life.

Interview with My Fat Pocket.

with 3 comments

Such a strong woman like her, who can resist such panache and charm?
Peggy has been blogging since 2005 but not only is she famous in the blogosphere,
she is also a familiar face on the silver screen as well as in stock images library.
Peggy Chang is a graduate from Nanyang Technological University
and lives by the motto of “Never let anybody tell you what you can or cannot do.”

We spoke to her and the very one thing I like most about her is… her humility:

“It is a blessing for me though, that after having brushed shoulders with all these glamour and temptations,
I’ve still stayed pretty grounded.”

Why did you name your blog “Sixpegs”?

Well, pegs is from my name ‘Peggy’ and my birth date falls on the 6th of August.
Coincidentally, 6 is my favourite number as well.
It is easy to remember because it sounds like six packs too, so I decided to call my blog ‘sixpegs’.

When did you start blogging?

I started blogging in 2005. It has been such a long time!

What interests you in modelling?

Modelling is interesting because you pose like a soccer player one day,
and dress up like a bride the very next day.
It allows you to meet many interesting people and also made me more ‘street-smart’ in the process.

The biggest lesson you have learnt is “Never let anybody tell you what you can or cannot do.”
Would you like to share the experience you learnt this lesson from?

I definitely didn’t learn this from just one incident.
Being a typical Leo, I am proud and as obstinate as a mule.
I hate having people to tell me what is the right way or the wrong way to do things.
Because I believe that sometimes, even when I take a longer wrong,
or the so-called wrong route, I see more and I learn more.

I realised that you have always had short hair. Every tried growing a tress?

I have always wanted long and wavy hair.
Do you know that I even tried having hair extensions?
It was such a disaster. Well, I love the feeling of having a haircut too much I guess.
It feels as if I have just left some of my troubles behind in the salon
and starting out as a ‘fresh new, different person’ again.

You mentioned that you like Marilyn Monroe. What about her that appeals to you?

She is a small girl looking for a love in a big and colourful world.
All the men in the world adore her, but not one of these men can give her the love a woman deserves.
She is beautiful and is not afraid to show the world what she has.
She knows her strengths and weaknesses. She is such an enchanting character.
I wish I knew her.

She once said “I’m selfish, impatient and a little insecure. I make mistakes, I am out of control and at times hard to handle. But if you can’t handle me at my worst, then you sure as hell don’t deserve me at my best.” I’ll always remember her wise words.

If you can turn back time, what would you change?

Do you know of the butterfly effect?
I think I am too afraid to take the chance and change anything in my life.
Everything happens for a reason.

You are given 24 hours to spend time with anyone. Who would that lucky person be?

My mom.

Tell us more about “Sunday Advertorials.”

Sunday Advertorials is like a place for you to check back every Sunday for new updates from blogshops. This will be a terrific place for you if you’re a blogshop shopaholic.
Some may say that you can be a mailing list member at the blogshop to be updated of their new launches, but how many dozen mailing lists can one join?

Thus, I decided that I should do this advertorial thing and make it a Sunday thing because that’s when people are bored at home and dreading Monday.
Retail therapy will surely work.

Sunday Advertorials is a great place for new blogshops to meet the world too!

Where do you see yourself in 5 years time?

I hope I will be married by then.
I can blog all about my life as a married young lady working in the society.
Ideally, I also want to be a mother in 5 years time.

What would advise young girls out there who would like to carve a modelling career path for themselves?

Go and do it. And remember, don’t let anyone tell you what you can or cannot do.
If you think you want to know how it feels like to be a model, then go ahead and be one.
Be proactive, and be open-minded about it.
Go talk to people and approach people or agencies.

In your own definition, what makes a woman modern and smart?

To be modern and smart, this woman has to be confident, well informed and resourceful.
It is also important to have good social skills and a high EQ.

What, to you, is being financially independent?

Being financially independent is being able to support oneself, whichever kind of lifestyle one has.

Do you think you are financially savvy and smart? Why?

I think I am not financially savvy and smart enough. I’m still trying to work on it.
No one can be smart enough, to be honest.

What does the phrase “MyFatPocket” remind you of?

It reminds me of lucky mahjong days. Haha!

– See seen on My Fat Pocket’s website. <3 –

Written by SIXPEGS

June 25, 2010 at 10:43 am

Posted in Rambles

3 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. There’s a recent ‘show’ that I watched and I had to fully agree on it’s saying. It’s not the destination, but it’s the journey. Yeah, who cares, if it took a longer route, but at least I’ve learnt something that others didn’t?

    Not that we’ll know you throughly after reading this interview, but it’s always nice to know bloggers on another/personal level.

    Jiayou for work!

    Euphemia

    June 25, 2010 at 6:11 pm

  2. hello peggy!
    i just wanted to ask you, how did you start modelling? and how old? i’ve been asked to join a few modelling agencies but i’m not sure if they’re a fraud like many people say they are. and i’m really interested in starting soon.
    thanks! (:

    Danielle

    July 6, 2010 at 4:02 pm

    • hello danielle, look for a good agency. normally those who approach you on the streets aren’t really reputable ones. my advice is to not join them. i started modelling when i was around 17 or so. you can try better ones like mannequin, upfront, phantom, looque also? maybe? got a few more also i think. but do your homework before you join them. for most of them, you don’t have to pay to get in. rememebr that!

      sixpegs

      July 6, 2010 at 4:09 pm


Leave a Reply

