s i x p e g s

fashion, music, fun, love and everything about my life.

Tokyo Days 6, 7, 8.

with 46 comments

Hey guys, I know I haven’t really talked much about the last few days of my Tokyo trip.
SO, HERE I AM! :D

For the last few days in Tokyo, I didn’t really do much more except shopping!
Well, to be honest, there wasn’t really a hell lot of shopping as well.
I bought crappy tiny things along the way but I think most of my money went to the food! *burps*

Buttons was busy with work even when he was overseas on vacation.
Sigh, but a man has gotta do what a man has to do.
So, I set off to explore the city on my own on Day 6!

I set off to Harajuku and Omotesando area to do some shopping.
And this time, since I was alone and I didn’t have to listen to Buttons’ whining (haha!),
I ventured out and totally walked randomly on my own!

It is always very exciting to walk around without a map alone. :p

It was good to just tour around the city and I bought quite a lot of stuff when I’m out shopping alone!
I bought gifts for my parents and also a new keypouch, wallet and bag for myself. Hee! :D
I then went back to Ikebukuro area to have dinner with Buttons.
Poor baby had to be in the room for the whole day to do up his work.
Such a hardworking boy! *hugs*

Dinner was good. It was at this place called 天狗 near the Ikebukuro station.
Well, it’s obviously not read 天狗 like how we say it in Mandarin.
I don’t know how to read it in Japanese but oh well the food there is great!
The ambience is bustling and everyone in there looks jolly and happy with their food.
The prices are very affordable too. The yakitori there is to-die-for! :D””
Unfortunately, I didn’t take pictures of the yakitori because I forgot about the camera the moment I saw the food.
Hahahaha! Here are some other shots I snapped in the restaurant. :)

Buttons and I visited Ueno the following day because he wanted to go to the Hard Rock Cafe there.
He is a collector of Hard Rock Cafe pins and it’s just a must for him to get one when we’re in Tokyo!
Ueno is a pretty interesting place because the stuff found here are rather different from the town area.
You can find stalls selling vegetables, seafood next to shops selling 2nd hand branded bags and shoes!! :p
Rather interesting, but not my kinda place though. Heh!
But here is Ueno for you guys to check it out.
Sidenote: The things here are a lot cheaper than those in town though.

The tee shirt beneath my denim shirt is proudly sponsored by Polka Dots Pigs!
It’s super comfortable and I love it. :D

Thanks for the love, dear Polka Dot Pigs!

By the way, still remember Issei Sagawa?
He now has a transport company in Japan!! Haha. Kidding!
But seeing his name now still gimme the creeps! *shivers*

This is the keychain/bag charm I bought from Hard Rock Cafe at Ueno.
The cafe is just inside in the Ueno JR station so it’s impossible for you to miss it!
The shop keeper told me that this one with Hello Kitty can only be found in Japan.
Cuteness! I love it!! <3

We then headed over to Ebisu and Daikanyama area to just tour the place.
These are quieter neighbourhoods as compared to the few places we’ve been for the last few days.
We found funky toy shops and nice gift shops around here!
The things found here are generally more expensive (esp Daikanyama), but the place is gorgeous.
Quiet and expensive neighbourhood, according to my Japanese friend.

I wanna laugh whenever I see this picture!!
Look at Buttons’ FLARED NOSTRILS SMILE! LOL!

The night ended when we met up with another Couchsurfer, Kumiko!
She was a real darling and she brought us to this really pretty chillout place near Daikanyama area.
She introduced us to her friend, Sandra too.
We were later joined by another Couchsurfer from Germany too! :)

Unfortunately, we didn’t get to speak to Kumiko much because there were too many of us.
And we were all chatterboxes so we were talking to each other a little too much. Haha!
But Kumiko was really nice and she offered to bring us out around town the following day!

As our resources were running low, Buttons and I only wanted to shop around Ikebukuro area.
There is a huge part of Ikebukuro that we hadn’t been to yet, so this was a great chance!
Kumiko wasn’t really good with the Ikebukuro area because she hardly goes here.
But she was nice enough to brave through Ikebukuro with us! :p

It was a Saturday and Kumiko was dressed more casually.
And I love her hat! Pretty pretty! :D
My dressing is really plain when compared to the Japanese! I’m ashamed of myself. Hahaha!
My “all dressed up” kinda look is actually their normal dressed down getups. Bleah!
Anyway, this is us in Ikebukuro on our second last day in Tokyo.

You must be wondering why is Kumiko and Buttons posing with that can of coffee?
Hahahahaha. I actually made them do this video (below) in the middle of nowhere in Ikebukuro.
Well, it’s because even back in Singapore, Buttons likes to do this “Japan Hour” impersonation.
You know how the Japanese like to go “EHHHHH!!! OISHI!!!” when they go on those food shows right?
Hahahahaha! Buttons loves doing that whenever he is with me.
So since we are in Japan, and we have a Japanese friend with us, we just HAD to let them do it together! :p

Not bad at all, I’d say!
Makes me think that the vending machine coffee is REALLY GOOD!! :p

Kumiko spotted a KTV while we were cruising about town and we decided to try it out!
Japan is afterall the country where Karaoke was born, so this is the best place to visit a KTV! Heh.
I was a little worried about the kind of songs in there because I can only memorize and sing 2 Japanese songs.
And since I cannot read Japanese, it’s going to be disastrous if they only have Japanese songs in there.

But on the contrary, the songs in there are amazing good and comes in various languages!
Even the Mandarin songs in there are very updated!
They have Hiragana above every word for the the Mandarin songs so that the Japanese can sing them too.

I even sang a Japanese song with Kumiko!!! Hahahaha.
“First Love” by Utada Hikaru is one of the 2 Japanese songs I memorized.
Fortunately I haven’t forgotten the words to the song and didn’t made a fool of myself in front of a Japanese.
Hehehe! :p

I also spotted a Sanrio shop so I went in there and bought a huge Kuromi cushion!
The Hello Kitty cushions in there have pink ribbons but I only like my Hello Kitty with red ribbons.
Yes, I’m anal like that.
But the Kuromi one is really cute! I love it!
Here is a retarded picture of me and my new cushion. Hehe! :p

I also bought this small charm of Kitty on a JR train.
JR trains are the ones Buttons and I took most often when we were in Tokyo.
So this one will serve as a real good memento for myself! :)

Well, this pretty much rounds up our entire Tokyo trip.
The 8 and a half days in Tokyo has been really fabulous!
Although we made changes to the places to visit and didn’t stick to our itinerary very much (dammit),
we still had lots of fun when we were there! :D
And above all, I think the meetups with the Couchsurfers really made things a lot more interesting.
If there are people out there who hasn’t heard of Couchsurfing yet, it’s time to find out more!
Click on this link to find out more about this amazing community. :)

Well, and I shall also end this post with another piece of good news.

After all the seeking and resume-sendings, I have found a position that I have been looking for.
(It’s nothing related to Civil Engineering just in case you’re wondering)
I will tell you more about it in my next post.

Buttons has been really sweet too!
The silly boy actually spent a huge sum of money to buy me these gorgeous figurines from Precious Thots.
We saw this first figurine when we were shopping at ION couple months ago.
I just casually said I liked it a lot because I have always been a fan of Beauty and the Beast since I was young.
The silly boy actually went back there to get it for me. <3
It’s really adorable and I love it!

And few days later after I told him that I have gotten the job, he told me he got another surprise for me.
He made me cover my eyes while he gingerly placed the “surprise” in front of me.
And when I heard the tune “Beauty and the Beast” being played, I couldn’t bear it anymore and opened my eyes!
And I saw this!!!


I was so touched I actually cried. I’m such an idiot.
He said he actually bought this with the other Beauty and the Beast figurine,
and he wanted to keep this for my birthday.
But he was really happy that I managed to get a job so soon and decided that this will be a congratulatory gift!
It was really beautiful!! <3
Belle and the Beast twirls around in the lit podium as the tune “Beauty and Beast” tinkles.
I love this so much, thanks Buttons!

And since we’re talking about Beauty and the Beast, I shall also tell you this story only my close friends know.
It’s nothing serious, but something funny that happened to me when I was a lot younger.
When I was in primary school, like Primary 1 or 2 or something, I was in the Bookworm Club.
Hahaha. Cute hor! :p

Anyway, my Mom and I were invited to this Bookworm Club gathering they had.
And when we were there, we were actually invited on stage to play this “How well you know each other” game.
We were asked questions like “What is your daughter’s favourite food?” kinda questions.
All those questions were really easy peasy for us since my Mom and I know each other pretty well.
THEN, came the question “What is your daughter’s favourite cartoon?”

OMG! That was like a giveaway question because I was obsessed with Beauty and the Beast when I was a kid.
But instead of writing Beauty and the Beast on my answer board, I wrote…

And so, we lost the game.
My mother later asked me “You like to watch He Man one meh!”
And I told her I wrote He Man because I didn’t know how to spell Beauty and the Beast.

HAHAHAHAHA! It’s really stupid.
Everytime when I see Beauty and the Beast now, it will still remind me of stupid He Man!

Oh well, that’s just some really stupid stories. Heh!
Buttons, thanks for the Beauty and the Beast figurines! I love them. <3
And thanks for driving me around for the job interviews as well.

I really appreciate your support. Thank you. :)

Written by SIXPEGS

June 19, 2010 at 8:00 pm

Posted in Rambles

46 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. hi! can i ask where u bought the iphone casing from? the one that u can hang keychains on? looks really cool! thanks! (:

    kat

    June 19, 2010 at 8:50 pm

  2. congrats! :) really happy for you! Wishing you all the best for the future :)

    enya

    June 19, 2010 at 10:31 pm

  3. errr… i dont belive in love. but, happy for you :) jia you!

    luckyboy1420

    June 19, 2010 at 11:29 pm

  4. Hello Hello! I’m a silent reader! I love Beauty and the Beast too, it’s my favourite Disney cartoon! I love the Precious Thots figurine and the musical castle too! Just asking, where can you get the musical castle from? I would love to get one too! And lastly, congrats on your new job! Have a great weekend! Stay strong :)

    Rina

    June 19, 2010 at 11:31 pm

  5. Is that Ray-Ban sunglasses Buttons is wearing?

    JAPB

    June 20, 2010 at 12:01 am

  6. so happy reading your post about your trip again! hhhaa. congrats on getting a job and sth you’ve been looking for :) hope you meet really nice and lovely people! oh yes the beauty and the beast figurine is really sweet! haha love disney stuff! :)

    zh

    June 20, 2010 at 12:21 am

  7. hi sweet,
    could i knw which level of shibuya mall u got the piece of iphone polka dot screen protector? as i will be heading to japan in a few wks.

    thnks:)

    purplystar

    June 20, 2010 at 12:41 am

  8. congrats gurl! so glad to see that things are working out for you :) and of cos, nothing beats having support from your loved ones too ^^

    Wendy

    June 20, 2010 at 2:04 am

  9. JAPB – yes the sunglasses are from raybans. :)

    kat – it’s from japan.

    rina – thanks for your well wishes. :) the musical castle is also from precious thots.

    wendy – thanks dear.

    purplystar – i cannot remember the name of the shop but it’s a huge store and on ground level.

    sixpegs

    June 20, 2010 at 4:49 am

  10. Hi Peggy, u know the ultraman and the monster figurines u took pic of in a potted plant? I had that monster, exact same one when I was young! My mum thought it was 90 cents and bought for for my bro, my sis n me… n it was actually $9. poor mummy :( $9 a lot of money last time.

    Jen

    June 20, 2010 at 9:16 am

  11. u know.. i have been a silent reader of your blog since 2008!
    i want to let you know you’re such a great blogger. every entry of yours seem really genuine. esp about your studies. made me tear a lot..
    youre so lucky to have a bf like buttons man..sparing time for you even though hes rly busy! and all those encouragement from him. its been a year since u guys gt tgt rite? :)
    haha.. i wish there will be many more years to cme!

    hope u get married soon!
    love u and ur posts. keep the good job! hee

    hey there pegs

    June 20, 2010 at 10:08 am

  12. hey, your boyfriend knows japanese?

    en

    June 20, 2010 at 12:43 pm

  13. ahhhh iphone also can hang hp accessories!! i wonder if we caan find tat in SINGAPORE! >.<

    hehehe.. i love those shots u took alone on the day Buttons had to work in hotel. they just spell "i miss you". hahaha.. (mayb i think too much =p) haha! nice beauty & the beast! so sweet! i believe girls just feel so loved when our partners remember our passing remarks! haha..

    CONGRATS on your new job again!!!
    aiyoh long entry, so also long comment! because this is a gd entry! =p

    ladysuki

    June 20, 2010 at 1:09 pm

  14. Hi Peggy, may i know if you shopped at H&M in tokyo? or American Apparel?

    Btw where did you get your red scarf from?

    thanks so much

    June

    June 20, 2010 at 1:27 pm

  15. hi peggy, may i know how much did u spend on this trip? is it veri expensive?

    Riane

    June 20, 2010 at 6:20 pm

  16. Hi peg, how much did u pay for the air tickets and accomodation? is it a budget trip?

    Riane

    June 20, 2010 at 6:30 pm

  17. hey peggy, may i noe how much you pay for the screen protector? cos online is selling for $24!

    and also where did you get the ring hook that you have on your iphone to hang the accessories? thanks

    eme

    June 20, 2010 at 9:39 pm

  18. Jen – Awww! Thanks for sharing your little story. It puts a smile to my face. I remember I made my Dad buy me my first pager when I was in secondary school when he was drunk. LOL! I’m more evil in a way. But after my Dad sobered up, he didn’t mind at all! LOL. Parents are the greatest people of all. And that’s a really cute monster btw! :p

    hey there pegs – thanks for your comment! :) and thanks for the love w.r.t my studies. I’m glad I pulled through and graduated as well. buttons has been a great bf & he never forgets to give me occasional surprises every now and then despite his busy schedule. i am really happy to have him in my life too. but i won’t get married so soon lah. haha. smelly smelly also must another 2 years or so. work for now! we’re still young and we need to start saving up before we can create a home for ourselves. thanks for your well wishes though. :)

    en – wow! buttons will be flattered if he sees this comment! :p he knows very very basic japanese, but definitely not enough for him to carry a decent conversation in japanese. he is learning spanish though. if you ask me, his spanish is better than his japanese. :p

    ladysuki – i bought that thing in tokyo actually. i’m not sure if it is available in singapore. but i’m sure they will bring it in to singapore in time! :) thanks for your comment! and thanks for reading my blog. i remember your nickname already because you always leaves comments for me. heh! :p

    june – yes i visited both american apparel and h&m when i was in tokyo. they are both very awesome. i went to the american apparel in shibuya area (near cat street) and the h&m in shibuya and ginza. the red scarf is from a small shop in shibuya. and you’re welcome. :)

    riane – the air tickets costs around $850 per pax. hotel is $900 for 8 nights (room for two) and i brought S$3k for my spendings there. it’s pretty okay for japan if you ask me. :) not really a downright budget-budget kind of trip. moderately budget. we can eat comfortably and buy things as and when we want. but not branded stuff of course lah. :p

    eme – i think those who bought the phone stickers from me are going to kill me because i sold them at $26! :x (shit) as for the cost price for the stickers, i’m afraid i’m going to keep it confidential since it’s business. :p but it’s not exactly very cheap also. but i guess it’s worth the price because i don’t see any shops in singapore selling something similar. the ring hook to hang my accessories is also from tokyo.

    sixpegs

    June 20, 2010 at 10:41 pm

  19. hey may i know how much is the beauty and the beast castle and where to buy?? I hope to buy for my sister. thanks

    daniel

    June 20, 2010 at 10:59 pm

    • daniel – I think the castle is 200+ or 300+ because he told me he spent around 400+ on both and I know the Precious Moments one is 100 plus. You can find the castle in Precious Thots. He got it from the ION outlet. But he say ION outlet no more stocks already, so do call them to confirm before you go down okay? And your sister is so lucky to have such a brother! :D

      sixpegs

      June 20, 2010 at 11:18 pm

  20. Hi may i ask on average how much a meal cost in tokyo? Did you get the travel pass? And did you spent all 3k?

    TIA

    jennifer

    June 21, 2010 at 1:19 am

    • jennifer – average meal in tokyo can be as cheap as 600yen (around S$9) and yes that’s cheap.. to maybe slightly over 1000 yen.
      Average small eateries should be slightly lesser than 1000yen. 1000 over yen can get you very very decent food already.
      yoshinoya is around 500 yen for a beef bowl, and it comes with free flow of water or ocha.

      Yes I spent all S$3k. Heh! :p

      sixpegs

      June 21, 2010 at 2:12 am

  21. hey peggy, congrats on getting a new job! i do hope u meet wonderful people there, which can make work very much more enjoyable :)

    and thanks for the awesome japan trip entries! definitely made me felt like i have taken a visual tour in japan. i enjoyed reading them so much!

    ron

    June 21, 2010 at 5:28 am

  22. peggy so lucky of you to find a job already! i’m still desperately looking. =( where do you mostly look for jobs? i’ve tried newspapers/jobs portal.

    oh n i love that hello kitty hard rock cafe keychain. i’m also a huge fan of hello kitty!

    ame

    June 21, 2010 at 12:08 pm

  23. hi peggy i got the same question as kat!

    can i ask where u bought the iphone casing from? the one that u can hang keychains on? i always tot iphone cant hang anything u noe! with this it will help lots! thanks!
    :)

    and congrats on finding your job! dont worry things will work out fine! :D

    eve

    June 21, 2010 at 12:31 pm

  24. oh okay. i saw the comments. its from toyko. hur. i cant get them in sg? :(

    eve

    June 21, 2010 at 12:32 pm

  25. Peggy, yup its totally sold out. You are lucky. :) I did call them and hope they able to come in new stocks. Yup she is my only sister and I hope she is well and happy everyday. Finger crossed for the castle! :)

    daniel

    June 21, 2010 at 3:43 pm

    • lucky me. well hope the stocks come in soon for you too, daniel! :)

      sixpegs

      June 21, 2010 at 4:01 pm

  26. Peggy, i have to ask! where did you get your demin shirt from? :p

    Kay

    June 21, 2010 at 10:53 pm

    • tokyo babe. harajuku to be exact. :)

      sixpegs

      June 22, 2010 at 9:48 am

  27. Hey Peggy, you mentioned that you’re selling the Iphone sticker (at 26$)… is it still available? Am I still able to buy it from you?

    Giselle

    June 22, 2010 at 3:00 pm

  28. Hey I really enjoy reading your blog, and your pictures are really pretty, the quality is so clear/good can I know what camera did you use to take your photos? Thanks :D

    Annie

    June 22, 2010 at 5:15 pm

  29. Hey where did you buy your brown loafers from?:)

    Daisy

    June 22, 2010 at 11:41 pm

  30. hey peggy, is camera you brought to japan to snap all those really nice pictures by the olumpus you advert in your last post ?
    they look really too good to be true lol

    jam

    June 23, 2010 at 12:31 am

  31. hi peggy, thanks for replying me. I will be going to japan for a week in july and will spend last 2 days in tokyo. can you suggest some interesting places to visit or sight-seeing in tokyo? plus who can i find in Coachsurfing for tips?

    Btw, congrats on finding a new job! all the best!! :)

    Riane

    June 23, 2010 at 12:49 am

  32. REALLYYYYY love your iphone sticker… Do you have xtra to sell to me? I really love it a lotttt!!!

    Joannnnn

    June 23, 2010 at 1:51 am

  33. hi Pegs! congrats on securing the job. you look like you had a great time in japan! your boyfriend is so sweet and btw, that ‘he man’ part is so funny! which camera are you using? i quite like the effect your camera has for the japan photos.

    mich

    June 23, 2010 at 7:02 am

  34. hello ! i saw from your comment that you know website which is selling the iphone stickers, if you don’t mind, can you post the link here ? TYVM !

    to eme

    June 23, 2010 at 8:53 pm

    • hmmmm… not v nice because i have blogshops who pay me to be mentioned on my website. it’s not fair to them. hope you understand. :)

      sixpegs

      June 24, 2010 at 2:09 am

  35. Oh I do, so sorry ! They should probably start paying you to advertise now. Haha.

    Peggy

    June 24, 2010 at 9:41 am

    • :p yeah they shld!! lol. sorry abt it girl.

      sixpegs

      June 24, 2010 at 9:45 am

  36. Hey Peggy, just wondering what camera did you use to take your japan pics? and did you edit the colours of the photos? they’re really really pretty!

    Jazz

    June 24, 2010 at 10:48 am

    • the colours are all not edited! they were taken using the olympus EP1!!! :D Using one of the ART functions called “pinhole”.

      sixpegs

      June 24, 2010 at 11:59 am

  37. Hello peggy, where did you buy yr sneakers? Really nice!

    Joyce

    June 26, 2010 at 2:59 pm

  38. Hey peggy, love your blog! anyways, i like to know if you got the red polka dot iphone skin in Japan or in Singapore? I love the red!

    lizzie

    July 1, 2010 at 10:10 am

  39. seemed such a wonderful trip! :O i love the photos around Japan! ;)

    reilashino

    July 8, 2010 at 9:38 pm


Leave a Reply

