s i x p e g s

fashion, music, fun, love and everything about my life.

Power Over Cervical Cancer.

with 20 comments

I was invited to a Bloggers Gathering organized by Nuffnang last week.
But the most special thing is, this gathering is not just a normal gathering.
Instead, it is really meaningful and I feel obliged to share the knowledge I have learnt from there.

Alright, to get things going, I’ll just blog about the lighthearted things that happened that evening.
I was dressed from top to toe in black, something that one will never go wrong with.
I put on those slightly bimbotic circle contact lenses because I was feeling vain (and slightly bimbotic). Haha!

What a bad photo. My head looks damn big! :x

The gathering was held at House @ Dempsey and it was really nice to be part of this evening.
Because, all of the most happening bloggers were invited!
(So much so that I feel so un-happening when I’m there hurhur!)

I only joined the Nuffnang family about 3 months ago, so I’m seriously a newbie there.
I felt a little out of place and awkward when I first reached there because I was all alone.
Buttons was supposed to accompany me but he overslept (AGAIN!) so I need to brave the gathering alone.
Hahaha! I used the word ‘brave’ because I can be really socially-retarded sometimes!!
I become too self conscious for my own good at this kind of social gatherings. BUT THANK GOODNESS!
I saw Calvin Loh! He is a good friend of mine and he was there that night
because he was in charge of the running of the event itself. :) I’m so lucky! *beams*

I also saw familiar faces like Velda and Rachel from BonitoChico there, it’s really nice to see them!
I haven’t seen them for so long. But I really don’t know why I forgot to take pictures with them. Dammit.
I made a couple other new friends as well!
They are really nice people because they walked up and talked to me when I’m acting autistic. Heh!
Here I am with the lovely ladies, they are all great bloggers by the way!
Valerie (the lady in pink) is also Miss Earth 2009!
And all three of them are so slim! I feel like a dumpling beside them. *coff coff*

And which gathering for the great bloggers (and wannabes like me, hehe!) is complete without the Queen?
Here is me posing in a picture with Wendy. :)
We actually only met on 3 different brief encounters, but fortunately she remembers me.
If not damn paiseh one lor, I’m behaving like an irritating fan. Hahaha!


Here is a picture of myself and Raine – the one who has been doing a lot of saigang for my blog! :p
And also with Elise and Fashion Blogger, Arissa.


Buttons and I went for our dinner (or rather supper) at Ken’s Ramen.
It used to be really yummy but I don’t know why but the standards seem to be dropping these days.
Is this the case for all supposedly-famous foodstalls?
After you get famous, you don’t put effort into making your food anymore. Boo boo.

Buttons is really great in accompanying me to the event because, as you already know,
the event is to spread awareness about cervical cancer.
So almost 90% of the people present are ladies!
Big thanks and hugs and kisses to the boyfriend who volunteered to accompany me.
(Either that, or he just wants to go there and see girls! Hahahaha!)

And also the most chio picture of me for the entire day –

Oh! And did I mention that we also had our caricatures done at the POCC event?
The artist was really fast and the caricature was done within like.. 2 minutes?!

But the sad thing is – DON’T LOOK LIKE US ONE LOR!!
Hahahahaha!! Don’t say I niao! You can see for yourself.
The person in my caricature look more like some indian middle age woman.
And Buttons’ is even worse! Look like 王喜! HAHAHA!!

But the good thing is, the artist is really good at this paper-cutting thingy.
He just took out a pair of scissors and started cutting out the silhouette of our profiles!!
AMAZING! And I think he really did a good job on this one! (Especially mine!)

And now that we’ve got all the fun stuff done, let’s get down to business.
The knowledge that I have gained after walking out from the gathering is really priceless.
I learnt that cervical cancer is the 6th most common cancer in Singapore,
and we ladies can actually contract the virus in our early twenties!
There will be no symptoms, no signs even if you have the virus incubating within you.

Scary, isn’t it? I thought so too.
But the thing is, there is actually a vaccination that you can take to protect yourself against cervical cancer!

First thing first, I think the most important thing for us young ladies to do, is to get a Pap Smear test.
Do you know that as long as you have had sex before, and is above 25 of age,
you are most encouraged to go for a Pap Smear test.
That is the first step to finding any abnormalities in your body. And also the first step to protecting yourself.
Sadly, I have never had a Pap Smear test done before. And I should be ashamed of myself.

So, let’s make a date and go for our Pap Smear test. It is really important.
No matter what your concerns are, there is no real good excuse to decline a Pap Smear test.
From what I heard at the talk, Singapore Cancer Society actually do free Pap Smear for ladies.
And I also asked my Mom about Pap Smear the other day.
She mentioned that a Pap Smear is really affordable!
Probably cheaper than your midnight cab fare back home from Zouk!!

Okay, to scare you girls a little.
Here is a picture of a normal cervix (Healthy and pretty in pink) –

And THIS is one’s cervix when one has cervical cancer (!!!) –

If you don’t want any cottage cheese-like growth on your cervix,
please make an appointment with your doctor and have a Pap Smear done.
Do ask more about the vaccination against cervical cancer too!
Prevention is better than cure. :)

Okay, I feel damn good after sharing the knowledge.
It’s your turn to spread the message now! Protect your best girlfriends and family against cervical cancer.

Tata! And wish me good luck for my interview tomorrow morning! Goodnight. :)

Written by SIXPEGS

May 25, 2010 at 1:12 am

Posted in Events

20 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. i scrolled down to your ‘most chio picture’ and i literally BURST out laughing. why you so random! hahaha.

    ronolics

    May 25, 2010 at 1:53 am

  2. the blogger event looks so fun! hehee.. and i love that silhouette cutout! Haha..

    btw, here sharing with u my papsmear experience! a lot of other rubbish written though.. ;p

    http://ladysuki.net/blog/?p=6121

    ladysuki

    May 25, 2010 at 1:58 am

  3. sorry to say this, but do you have anything against indians by saying ur caricature looks like an indian? just wondering. coz im indian (and 1/4 chinese thks to my grandma), and that sounded like it came out all wrong. left my site for u to see that for an indian i don’t look anything like that. :)

    p.s i hope by indian u mean india indian and not red indian. that’d be so embarrassing!

    ira

    May 25, 2010 at 3:42 am

    • ronolics – HAHAHA! Means it worked well! Hiak hiak!

      ladysuki – wow thanks for the blog entry! :) Very educational! Heh.

      Ira – hey there! Of course I’ve got nothing against indians!! Please don’t get me wrong! What a huge misunderstanding! But I really think my caricature look like an Indian lady! Like indian Indian lady. Not that the caricature looks horrible or whatsoever, but it just doesn’t look like me and looks like an Indian lady, to me at least. :p Really no offence, didn’t expect it to offend anybody. But my statement really don’t imply anything negative. Don’t get me wrong. :)

      Lj – indeed indeed. Better get it checked earlier! :)

      onefourever – you can get it done at gps I think. Polyclinics too. It’s very cheap in polyclinics.

      Rachel – I used the laneige whitening one. :)

      sixpegs

      May 25, 2010 at 11:32 am

  4. Yea..we should protect our body

    lj

    May 25, 2010 at 9:27 am

  5. the pic of the cervival cancer really digust.where can we do the pap smear test?

    onefourever

    May 25, 2010 at 10:13 am

  6. Hi Peggy! *waves*

    Glad you attended POCC. Yes, we provide free Pap smear at our clinic in Tanjong Pagar. It’s for female Singaporeans and Permanent Residents aged 25 to 69 years. If you’d like to make an appointment for yourself or your mum, please feel free to drop us an e-mail at cancerscreening@singaporecancersociety.org.sg :)

    This free service is made possible by donations from individuals and corporations. The Singapore Cancer Society is a self-funded voluntary welfare organisation and we do not depend on Community Chest or National Council of Social Service for funds.

    On 4 July, we will be having our Race Against Cancer at Pasir Ris Park and hope to raise $500,000 for our programmes and service to benefit needy & terminally-ill cancer patients as well as the general public. Each year, the SCS needs $5 million to run our programmes and services.

    We hope more people can join the race. Routes are 7.5km competitive run and 5km fun run. Closing date for registration is 16 June, at http://www.raceagainstcancer.org.sg

    Appreciate those reading this can spread the word of our charity run among your friends and family! Thank you in advance! If you require any banner, kindly send me an e-mail at sharon_lee@singaporecancersociety.org.sg and I’ll get it to you soon.

    Sorry for the plug, if anyone finds it offensive.
    Thank you!

    Sharon Lee

    May 26, 2010 at 10:35 am

  7. Hey Peggy,
    You most CHIO pic is super funny la! don’t take it the wrong way, but i think you will be an extremely cute bunny! :D Love how real you are with all the funny faces! haha
    Smile more, you have a great smile!

    Valerie

    May 26, 2010 at 9:49 pm

  8. thanks for sharing this with us.

    aikes..the last pictures was just horrid!

    peace!

    Cheers,
    Janice
    http://www.janthavenue.com

    janice

    May 26, 2010 at 10:37 pm

  9. what happen to your double eyelid?!

    fiona

    May 26, 2010 at 11:08 pm

  10. anyway i have completed my 3 jab course this year! :)

    fiona

    May 26, 2010 at 11:08 pm

  11. sharon – hello there sharon! thanks for sharing all these information here! i hope the readers see it! :)

    valerie – hahaha! CHIO RIGHT! LOL!

    janice – yeah. cancer is never beautiful.

    fiona – what’s with my double eyelids?! they look different meh? and good for you for the 3 jabs you had dear! :)

    sixpegs

    May 27, 2010 at 5:24 am

  12. Hey Peggy! Thought you’ll be interested to know that the website for Power Over Cervical Cancer is launched!

    Do visit http://www.pocc.sg to pledge your support for this cause and to take a free risk assessment test for Cervical Cancer! :)

    Thank you for your support

    Ju Ann

    May 27, 2010 at 6:29 pm

    • Thanks POCC! :D

      sixpegs

      May 27, 2010 at 6:30 pm

  13. ya! ur left eye double eyelid is slightly bigger than your right! haha

    fiona

    May 27, 2010 at 9:46 pm

  14. look at your this post 1st picture! :)

    fiona

    May 27, 2010 at 9:46 pm

    • hahaha. because the right eye tired lah! lol. parallax error! :p

      sixpegs

      May 28, 2010 at 12:47 am

  15. Haha! I look crazy! :P

    dweam

    May 29, 2010 at 1:19 am

  16. Hey! I wasn’t really offended, just trying to understand what that statement meant. Sorry if I offended you in any way.

    ira

    May 30, 2010 at 6:12 am

    • I wasn’t offended either lah! lol. No worries! :)

      sixpegs

      May 30, 2010 at 6:59 am


Leave a Reply

