s i x p e g s

fashion, music, fun, love and everything about my life.

Apple or Berry?

with 39 comments

Not soon after the other Mr Orange and Mr Green decided that Mr Red
shouldn’t be benefiting from the craze of iPhones solely,
they indirectly declared war by setting up a throat-slitting competition for the mobile data plans.
Each of these new competitors encouraging consumers to “JOIN ME” for better plans and better coverage.

But seriously, that’s not really our problem.
I reckon we’re all contented, because we can all happily get our hands on an iPhone now,
regardless of which telecommunications company you’re subscribed to.
And consumers only stand to benefit as the sneaky fights continue to happen between the providers.

Now, a new problem arises – the new war is between our dear Apple and good ol’ Blackberry.

(I don’t know why they all like to name their products or companies after fruits)

Honestly, I am itching to get my hands on an iPhone too since Starhub has finally decided to bring them in.
But the problem is, I already own an iPod Touch.
And as far as I know, the iPhone and iPod Touch is similar in
almost every other aspects except the camera and surfing functions.
I am pretty sure I’m not the only one who is torn between a BB and an iPhone now.
I’m also aware about the new launch of Blackberry Bold 2 which is totally awesome looking!

So to find out more about the differences between these two powerful tools,
I asked my best friend Google.

With materials taken from here and here, here is a summary report:

Best for Applications – iPhone
Best for Design – iPhone
(to be honest, I think BB Bold is gorgeous too)
Best Battery Life – Blackberry Bold
Best for Emails – Blackberry Bold
Best Operating System – iPhone
Best for Gaming – iPhone
Best for Business – Blackberry Bold

Honestly, I’m torn.

Will the supporters of iPhone and Blackberry please stand up and say something?

Written by SIXPEGS

December 22, 2009 at 1:39 am

Posted in Likes.

39 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. trust me baby,

    almost 2 years with iphone, im a declared convert.

    sinsin

    December 22, 2009 at 1:46 am

    • hahahahaha. but problem is i have an ipod touch leh.
      scared waste money buy something so similar.

      sixpegs

      December 22, 2009 at 2:08 am

  2. i was also torn between the iphone and BB. i concluded that i needed a phone for business so i chose the BB. no regrets. love the phone!

    so, what do you need your phone for? business?

    if it’s for business, stick with the BB.

    Belle

    December 22, 2009 at 2:09 am

  3. if u like to play games can handle the touch screen then iphone … for pple like me who dun play games and swear by instant messaging (and is extremely clumsy with touchscreen messaging), i love my bb !

    xin

    December 22, 2009 at 2:23 am

  4. Hey Babe!

    I had an iPod Touch and Blackberry bold.

    Now I’m using iPhone!

    Comparison, iPhone is much better!

    You can choose to sell away your iPod touch like I did.

    And get a iPhone!

    :)

    Vic

    Aiko Victoria

    December 22, 2009 at 2:30 am

    • hmm okay.. i guess the choice is clear. hahahaha.
      i don’t need a phone for business at all, more like for fun and for blogging.
      but i’m not going to sell my ipod away lah.
      buttons bought it for me and there are personal engravements on the back of the ipod. :p

      sixpegs

      December 22, 2009 at 2:34 am

    • but i think it’s alright.
      i can do my organizer, play games, listen to music and stuff on my ipod.
      so that the battery on iphone won’t get depleted so quickly. :)

      sixpegs

      December 22, 2009 at 2:35 am

  5. i personally use an iphone but have friends using bb so i got a chance to explore both phones. for me i almost wanted to switch to bb for the bbm and also cus it can be more satisfying texting on a physical keypad than a flat screen.

    but heres what i think,
    iphone works exactly like the ipod touch but with the 3g capabilities and the phone functions. so you dont always need a wifi unlike your ipod touch. and now there’s a new (or not so new) app called what’s app, it works exactly like bbm, you can use your data or wifi to text any iphone users for free and they are now looking to expand it to include bb users. so iphone and bb can text each other and basically just exclude all those n*k*a, s*ms*ng, s*ny or whatever users. furthermore, games games games, never a bored moment, no more awkward conversations, no more pretending to text. apps to book movie tickets, check the streets, find out the meaning of a word etc. are handy and definitely work better with the iphone cus of the 3G capabilities.

    as for bb, well when i ask bb users to convince me to switch over, they usually give me the cus its pretty method. and truth is, i wanted to switch over cus its pretty but that was about it. in the end i decided i cannot give up my apps for a phone that could very well be almost like a n*k*a smartphone.

    and of cus, the iphone is gorgeous, full screen vibrant colors, too many made for iphone covers to choose from to further amp up your device and the the phone auto syncs your songs, your contacts, your calendar, your photos and so much more with your brand new macbook….. damn.

    join the prettier side, get the iphone.

    M

    December 22, 2009 at 3:48 am

    • got a question.
      i got ipod touch and iphone.
      can do i sync them with the same macbook?

      sixpegs

      December 22, 2009 at 3:53 am

    • OMG M, are you serious about iPhone-BB texting?! If it’s true I am going to die of happiness!!! I’ve been praying for that function forever lor. OMG.

      melody

      December 22, 2009 at 12:07 pm

  6. yup, if you want the same data in. each account can sync up to 5 devices if im not wrong :)

    M

    December 22, 2009 at 4:03 am

  7. Yes you can sync them with the same MacBook. You can sync all the apple products in one MacBook, and if u want to, you can even sync benjamin’s iPod on your MacBook too (but he will lose his contents in his iPod originally). I used to think like you too, if it was stupid to get an iPhone since I own an iPod touch but I still got an iPhone in the end. Hahahaha. I too, thought that I’ll use my iPhone and iPod touch for different purposes but I ended up using my iPhone only (because it was troublesome to bring 2 devices out and I feel it’s kinda weird if I’m using my iPhone for texting/surfing etc and then listening to the music on my iPod touch but that’s just me though) but then again, ur iPod touch has special meanings (the engraving) so I think you wouldn’t mind using both devices at the same time? Tee hee.

    P/s: you can transfer the contents of ur iPod touch to your iPhone too I’m didn’t remember wrongly (cause I got my iPhone 2 years ago)

    mel

    December 22, 2009 at 4:40 am

    • hey mel, yup! go download what’s app! they are now working on the bb version already. apparently the beta version already came out but somehow the link was gone but some of my friends’ friends already got whats app on their bb so they are doing the iphone-bb msging now!

      Kudos to those geniuses!

      M

      December 22, 2009 at 3:43 pm

  8. i suggest you compare the iphone with HTC’s HD2

    beano

    December 22, 2009 at 8:45 am

  9. Actually Blackberry Bold’s battery life isn’t that great.

    There was once when I went on a business trip without my charger and I had hell – I had tp borrow the USB cable from the hotel receptionist to charge my phone everyday (sometimes twice a day) to keep the phone ‘alive’. Anyway, I think it is because I am on my work email very often so the battery can’t last.

    However, even when I am in Singapore and working, I need to charge my Blackberry every night when I get home. Not sure if I am the only one with this problem, but I am quite sian because an extra battery costs quite alot.

    BBM is a good and ‘free’ way to replace text messaging, but your friends must hold a Blackberry also in order to enjoy BBM with you. So I don’t see that as a plus point to get Blackberry! Hahaha… I have friends who buy Blackberry just for BBM – I don’t understand!

    Lingz

    December 22, 2009 at 10:06 am

    • second tht. ive got a problem with the batt life sometimes AND it LAGS V BADLY.

      ching

      December 22, 2009 at 11:50 pm

  10. Hey hey, if you are more into surfing the net, emails and instant messaging, BB is better. For games definitely iphone. But since you already have an ipod touch and most of the functions are similar to the iphone, I suggest you get a BB which is better for reading emails and browsing the net. My friend overseas told me one downside of the iphone. In cold countries when it is snowing or when you wear gloves, the iphone becomes totally inoperable because it works on touch screen. So if you are one who travels to cold countries often or wear gloves, then ya, the choice should be clear :)

    Niki

    December 22, 2009 at 10:11 am

  11. other than considering the capabilities of the phone, ever think abt the monthly subcription plans? Eg. the iphone plans have 12G data bundled with all the mintues,sms. BB have to get BIS, which is an addon on top of your mthly sub, 1G of data(usually), price depends on the telco company.

    How will your usage be like? data intensive stuffs like youtube all day long, view alot of pics online, or even online stream to watch movies? or is it mainly for IM,email,FB,twitter,occasional surfing?

    reader

    December 22, 2009 at 11:14 am

  12. omg thank you for this post!! I am having exactly the same dilemma as you!!!!

    audreaynaline

    December 22, 2009 at 11:38 am

  13. yes yes that question too!

    audreaynaline

    December 22, 2009 at 11:51 am

  14. hi babeeee! i started off with the BB (which is awesome) though my friends said i’m more of an iPhone person. so i got the iPod Touch and now i’ve got the best of both worlds! the apps/chio-ness of Apple + the functionality of the BB. no harm getting a BB first, try it out.. then if you don’t like it just tahan 1-2 years n switch to iPhone.. by then prices might have dropped!

    melody

    December 22, 2009 at 12:11 pm

  15. get a bb! xiaxue kaykay all use bbs! and tammy(the girl behind ohsofickle?) has both a bb and iphone. she was SO disdraught when she spoilt her bb and am only left w her iphone and cldnt wait to get the bb back.

    thing is i have a bb bold. while my bf has an iphone. i have to say when he first got it, it felt like a really fun ph, with all the applications and games. we were such addicts and played “taptap” almost everyday.but the novelty wears off after say in less than a mth? he hardly uses any of the apps anymore, other than the straits times news one. and it is much easier to use the bb when driving, it’s almost impossible for (girls esp) to balance and click on anythg on the iph at all.

    AND the batt life on the iph is really bad! my bf has to bring his charger ard/ to work to ensure that it lasts. there was once he forgot to bring his charger and i was supposed to meet him that night. i was really annoying cos we had to resort to smsing to reach each other cos his batt was flat by the end of the day… and as much as there are really cool functions on the iph, in order to ensure that the batt last, u will prob restrict urself to using the phone ONLY for ph functions when necessary? u prob wont be using the itunes, surfing (really drains the batt), playing games. so it kinda defeats the purpose of having such “fun” things which u cant use anyway

    and bbm is amazing! helps u stay connected w ur friends much more, it’s like i find myself telling my friends (not in my uni) random thgs, which wld have seemed to trivial to be sent via a sms/call. it sure helps us stay close (:
    sorry for the long msg, but hope you will take these into considerations!

    slam

    December 22, 2009 at 12:54 pm

  16. I’m using iPhone and I think you should get the Bold. You’ll get the best of both world then. =) Esp Since u already got the ipod touch. =)

    Naa

    December 22, 2009 at 4:06 pm

  17. Get a Blackberry! Been using iPhone for a few months and find that it is all hype but not that great.

    Sure its fun to have games on ur hp but the novelty wears off quickly.

    Reader

    December 22, 2009 at 5:00 pm

  18. Get a BB!

    iPhone battery life is too short! if you gonna game/Facebook/Twitter with it, it will not last u a day outside =( which kinda defeated a purpose of having such a phone when u cant fully utilize the apps. (You can still save more battery life by switching the network to 2G but it make surfing net a pain in the ass as the connection will not be as fast as when ur network is in 3G). Oh ya, iphone cant run more than 1 apps at the same time, which kinda suck like when u wait for a website to load and u cant chat in msn while waiting for it.

    BB pretty much can do what an iPhone cant do. Although there are fewer apps for BB, there is still the essential fun ones like MSN, FB, Twitter etc.

    You will need to buy more useful/fun iPhone applications/games like BB so i think is pretty similiar.(free trials are available for iPhone but what’s the fun with free trials?!)

    And since, you have an itouch already, get a BB, no point getting something similiar and underutilized one of the device.

    So there u go, you SHOULD get a BB =P.

    Hope this helps!

    p/s: i too have an iTouch, so i didnt wan to get an iPhone to overpower my iTouch which was also a gift from my bf.

    p/p/s: my bf recently got an iPhone too, which make me pretty glad that i made the right choice for myself as it pretty useless when u dont Jailbreak it (the newer 3GS version cant completely be jailbreak as apple has came out with a newer update; u can read more http://www.ihackintosh.com/2009/10/new-iphone-3gs-3-1-2-oob-not-jailbreak-proof/ –> here ) to download more free (and full version) of apps/games. Oh, i jailbroken my iTouch(2G).

    ruldoph

    December 22, 2009 at 5:06 pm

  19. bb is over rated, get an iphone. my husband bought a bb but he swears by my iphone 3Gs! iphone is a must have!!

    bian123

    December 22, 2009 at 5:47 pm

  20. Ok. I bought an iPhone.

    *silence*

    sixpegs

    December 22, 2009 at 5:51 pm

  21. i think im stucked in the same situation as you. prefers iphone, but alrd has an itouch alrd. grrr.

    yiting

    December 22, 2009 at 10:10 pm

  22. Owned an ipod touch with special engraving at the back as well. Kept it in office for music purpose. Recently swayed to get an iphone when I went to renew my contract. Intended to get the Samsung Jet but iphone’s price’s simply too attractive! Never regretted thus far. Ipod touch was good enough but iphone’s really the best!

    SiNz

    December 22, 2009 at 10:30 pm

  23. berry berry berry berry berry berry berry berry berry berry berry berry berry berry berry berry berry berry berry berry …

    luckyboy1420

    December 24, 2009 at 4:07 pm

    • apple apple apple. *chants*
      okay, bold 2 is very cool also lah. very pretty.

      sixpegs

      December 25, 2009 at 5:44 am

  24. Man I’m in the same dilemma too! I still dont know which to get.. So any regrets getting the iphone? How is it so far?

    JAPB

    December 27, 2009 at 12:13 pm

  25. iphone is for ppl who loves to play games. From my point of view la. haha. i love my berry. it’s so solid whereas i find iphone like glass able to break anytime. -_-

    fiona

    December 27, 2009 at 5:38 pm

  26. I still gonna make my point here althou there’s probably no relevance and further discussion abt it anymore.

    BUT why din u get a BB?

    In short.
    I’ve met pple who uses iph and switched to bb.
    But have never met pple who uses bb to iph. Yet.
    and i’m one of those.
    my point is clear.

    No regrets having bb. my bbb aka blackberrybold. rocks.

    *quah quah*

    bambina aka karleen

    January 4, 2010 at 3:07 am

    • hahahah karleen ah!! okay lah okay lah my iphone die already then i buy BB ok? :p

      sixpegs

      January 4, 2010 at 3:11 am

  27. Blackberry for sure! I personally have a Blackberry and I’ve not regretted it since! (well, except getting the Bold right before Bold 2 came out)

    Texting on the Blackberry is much satisfying for sure, I can’t get enough of it :)

    Don’t get an iPhone because you already have an iTouch, and there’s really no point in getting two things that are so similar with almost all the same functions (except for texting & camera). Blackberry is very stylish so it’s definitely very worth it!

    NICOLE.

    January 7, 2010 at 9:53 pm

    • too late, i’ve gotten myself an iphone already.
      but yeah i really have to agree that BB is very stylish and fab looking as well!

      sixpegs

      January 8, 2010 at 3:15 am

  28. *quah quah*

    if ur phone die on you so soon that goes to show.. .. hmmm
    honestly. i love mac. im a total mac freak.
    but this time round, im gonna thumbs up for BB!

    get both la dear. we can bbm! bbmmmmm…

    meanwhile tc.

    au revoir! bonne nuit.

    karleen

    January 8, 2010 at 2:55 am

    • haha okay okay. don’t curse my iphone la!
      if it dies on me now, i’ve got no more mobile plans to get another phone lor!
      hahaha. okok goodnight dear!

      sixpegs

      January 8, 2010 at 3:13 am


Leave a Reply

