s i x p e g s

fashion, music, fun, love and everything about my life.

What is your name?

with 31 comments

I chanced upon an article online regarding names.
I’m sure almost everyone will go through a phase in life where one will totally hate one’s own name.
Well, I can’t say this happens to all people but I sure felt this way
when this “Bookworm Auntie” came to my primary school when I was 9,
and told the whole school at the Wednesday morning assembly performance that her name is Auntie Peggy!

Really felt like dying then.

I have been called names throughout my whole childhood and teenhood as well.
And I’m sure it’s not hard to guess what they call me – PIGGY.
Peggy do sound like Piggy, and it even looks like Piggy.

Picture 4

When I was a teen, I would go find out what my name means too.
Some of the names has the most beautiful meanings.
Like for instance, Amanda means she is “fit to be loved” or “lovable”.

Unfortunately my name doesn’t have one of these beautiful definitions, Peggy is known as the nickname of “Margaret”.
And basically it means pearl.
When I hear the name Margaret, I can only think of Margaret Thatcher.
And you should know how kids always link pearls to being old and gray!
So since young, I have never really liked my name.

I googled a little and found a few studies and discussions about sexy names.
I think it is inevitable that everyone will have different impressions on names.
Like for me, Matilda sounds smart. Courtney sounds slutty. Susan sounds old fashioned.
(Sorry if you’re a Matilda, Courtney or Susan!)

So to you, what makes a name sexy?

According to the polls found online, there are the list of sexy names for men and women.
Just to name a few –

SEXY NAMES FOR MEN
Jake
Ryan
Sean
Matthew
Brad
Jason
Brandon
Cody
Evan
Nick

SEXY NAMES FOR WOMEN
Melissa
Jamie
Paige
Danielle
Sydney
Leigh
Ashley
Kristin
Liz
Courtney

Well, CONGRATULATIONS if your name is found in the list!

But if your name is not mentioned, don’t worry!
You can now call yourself “Danielle Lee Kim Mui”,
because I’m sure the Danielle can do quite a bit to make up for the outdated “Kim Mui” part!

Believe it or not, there are actually studies done to conclude why some names exude more sex appeal!

“Men with short vowel names, such as Bill, Tucker or Keith are perceived as sexier by the ladies.
But for women, it’s the reverse.
Names with longer vowels, vowels you make in the back of your mouth like Sofia and Laura,
are considered dreamier compared to names like Nicole or Hanna.”

(Actually I don’t really understand this!)

But whatever it is, I don’t know how much truth there is to this little study.
I guess whether a name is sexy or not is pretty subjective and depends a lot on our individual experiences.
For example, if I have a bad relationship with someone called Fabian,
I’d obviously have a bad impression of the name and link all other Fabians to the one I know.
Agree?

But whatever the case is, I know Peggy will never be perceived as being sexy. Oink!
HAHAHA.
Why not share a couple names that you think sounds extra sexy?
blush

Written by SIXPEGS

November 13, 2009 at 11:39 pm

Posted in Rambles

31 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Seth for boys, Leah for girls and Taylor for both.

    xin

    November 13, 2009 at 11:49 pm

    • Wah I don’t know any Seth or Taylor at all.
      But Taylor do sound quite sexy!
      I’ve got a cousin called Leah! :p
      Leah reminds of me Shakespeare’s Merchant of Venice.
      There is someone called Leah in there right
      Portia sounds like a pretty girl too.

      sixpegs

      November 13, 2009 at 11:55 pm

    • you’re a twilight fan!

      blah

      November 14, 2009 at 11:08 am

    • yeah sexy edward… drools.

      sixpegs

      November 18, 2009 at 12:25 am

  2. I like Gabriella!! =)))

    JO

    November 14, 2009 at 12:52 am

    • Eh Gabrielle is like Eva Longaria in Desperate Housewives. HOT!

      sixpegs

      November 14, 2009 at 2:45 am

  3. My name is Vivian. Wonder how does it sounds like? hah!

    ariesapril

    November 14, 2009 at 1:09 am

  4. Like.. Edward. -you must whisper this and let it roll off your tongue sexily, quietly, like trying to seduce but yet not to wake a vampire, u know u know?-

    Or Legolas. (let the S linger a bit as if you are speaking elvish)

    Ahem.

    Maybe the name Randy or Dick? But that just sounds plain MALE.

    Cough.

    Clive.

    I am bias but I think Italian/Spanish names sound extra sexayyy.

    (seems like many of the male names are association to hot males and the female names are likely taken off those triple x sites hahaaha!)

    Portia from Merchant of Venice is classy and plenty of attitude.

    Briana, Bianca, and I find myself drawn to the name Jane, because I remember how Natalie Portman mouthed, “Jane, plain Jane” in Closer.

    but i can’t gauge how sexy female names are cos they don’t send my hormones crazy.

    Scarlett T

    November 14, 2009 at 1:17 am

    • oh my god Jane in Closer is like HOWWWW HAWWWTTTTT! *wolf whistle*

      sixpegs

      November 14, 2009 at 2:44 am

  5. i think lovelle sounds pretty sweet. luque sounds cool for a girl too

    J

    November 14, 2009 at 1:25 am

    • lovelle is a sweet name (friend’s daughter is called that), but works only if it can be pronounced! i’ve heard it butchered to “love-lee”…. weird…

      pearly

      November 14, 2009 at 5:07 pm

    • “love-lee” HAHAHAHA.

      sixpegs

      November 14, 2009 at 9:21 pm

  6. I love my name so much … because my name is Matthew. But I dont think I am sexy … lol

    scarlett johansson… pretty sexy …

    luckyboy1420

    November 14, 2009 at 10:55 am

  7. guess what? I almost changed my name to Kim Mui when I was younger! ha.

    Anyway personally I really like kyer, I think it sounds sexy?

    Ariel

    November 14, 2009 at 6:30 pm

    • kyer sounds nice. how to pronounce?
      like “key-yer”?

      sixpegs

      November 18, 2009 at 12:24 am

  8. hi peggy, i could totally relate to this post, haha! although our names might never be perceived as sexy, but i’m sure our personalities are more than what our name mean!

    peggy l

    November 14, 2009 at 8:54 pm

    • at least you’re a peggy lee.
      you can groove and sing to “Fever”. that sounds really sexy too! :p

      sixpegs

      November 18, 2009 at 12:24 am

  9. Alexis, Elle and Jerilyn!

    mel

    November 14, 2009 at 9:09 pm

  10. Dallas

    Hazel

    Yessica

    Juemilia

    Julene

    Yasmine

    Eleanor

    Ophelia

    I also like names that can be used or both sexes.

    passer-by

    November 14, 2009 at 10:04 pm

    • i like eleanor. dallas is really unique too!
      i think those people who just had a baby and are looking for a suitable name should read this post. hehe.

      sixpegs

      November 18, 2009 at 12:23 am

  11. Caryn is a nice name for girls.
    Kavern for guys!
    woooooo!

    &honestly, you are the first peggy that help make this name sounds so much better(:

    Not a *****

    November 14, 2009 at 10:05 pm

    • kavern sounds really nice. i like caryn also.
      i’ve got nice friends with that name. :)

      sixpegs

      November 18, 2009 at 12:23 am

  12. i think Robin or Robyn is unique because it can be used as a masculine given name, feminine given name, and a surname.

    Passerby

    November 15, 2009 at 1:21 am

  13. Nigel for male and Natasha for female.

    dumdum

    November 15, 2009 at 1:03 pm

    • nigel sounds like a bald guy (probably because of nigel barker) and natasha sounds like she got a nice hot booty. :p

      sixpegs

      November 18, 2009 at 12:22 am

  14. shaun. for girls. think im the only shaun in the entire country or asia continent that’s called shaun. i was named by my mum since i was born and ive had endless explanations to do whenever i introduced myself as shaun. originally, as passed down from my mum, the name ‘shaun’ with a ‘u’ is meant for girls, while ‘shawn’ is used for guys.

    shaun

    November 15, 2009 at 3:28 pm

    • that’s really unique shaun.
      i think you’ll probably have to spend the rest of your life explaining why your name is shaun. :p

      sixpegs

      November 18, 2009 at 12:22 am

  15. jill for girl, cliff for boy. i think they both sound sexy. haha!

    Cheryl

    November 15, 2009 at 5:14 pm

    • i prefer clive to cliff. but both are nice. :)

      sixpegs

      November 18, 2009 at 12:21 am

  16. I can’t think of sexy names but I do have a list in my head that more or less sound not-so-nice to me.

    For guys, it’s Joshua and Aloysius (I’m sure there are more, just cannot think of them).

    Girls:

    Bimbo sounding ones are Tiffany and Bianca (reminds me cheerleaders).

    And as you said the old fashioned ones are Margaret and Susan. To add on to your list, LUCY, NANCY and MAGDALENE.

    For females, I like names like Scarlet, Summer, Aurelia, Hazel, Claire, Emma for a baby sounds so apt… I think Danielle is quite lovely sounding too.

    Guys, I would like Tristan, Edvard, Henry, William.. I think for guys, I prefer names that sound more ‘traditional’.. Lol!

    Clarice :)

    November 16, 2009 at 12:06 am

    • hahaha i hate “Aloysius” also.
      Very irritating sounding. :p
      Sorry to all whose names are Aloysius.
      Bianca does reminds me of a cheerleader. but sounds like quite a pretty girl leh. :p
      I have a very pretty auntie called Magdalene so I kinda like the name actually. lol.

      sixpegs

      November 18, 2009 at 12:21 am


Leave a Reply

