s i x p e g s

fashion, music, fun, love and everything about my life.

forever.

with 14 comments

547262818_82137e74b4

Reading my old entries is like taking a walk down memory lane.
Entries are dated back to as early as 2005.
I think I’m really so different from who I was couple years back.

Strangely, I enjoyed reading entries that were written when I was feeling down.
I can feel them more as compared to those describing a happy night out or stuff like that.
But looking at the last few entries, I think I’m much happier than I was couple months back.
I feel settled.
And very happy with how things are now, with my relationship at least.

I can still remember how I’d sneer at some people when they blog about their boyfriends –
saying how “he is The One for her” or “they will love each other forever”.
2 years down the road, she met up with another man.
And now, she thinks that this new guy is The One instead.

I never believed in forever.

I think I’m a little cynical here, but I think it’s always safer to not believe in forever.

I read up entries from 2 years back when I was happily in love with the-one-we-shall-not-speak-of,
& I realised that I was actually pretty happy back then.
But till today, I still cannot understand why love is not enough to keep two people together.
As you grow older, you’ll realise that love is no longer just a beautiful four letter word.

I have seen so many classic examples of people screwing up themselves.
Cheating. Lying. Mistrust. & not learning from past mistakes.
And I have to admit that I’m not entirely guiltless too.
I watched a talkshow few weeks ago and a few women were invited on the show
to talk about their experiences with love, cheating and marriage.
One of the guest said something that really made a lot of sense to me.

“There is always that MOMENT before you do something wrong.
You can choose to go with it, or resist it.”

How true.

In this ruthless world where cheating and unfaithfulness is everywhere,
we should always learn to pick ourselves up when we fall.
Seeing how some of these women talk about how
they survived their divorces really makes me take my hat off to them.
Independence – this is something every girl should be taught.

Anyway, what we should all do is just to treasure what we have now.
Who knows?

FOREVER might really happen.

:)

Written by SIXPEGS

September 7, 2009 at 2:55 pm

Posted in Reflections

14 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. I love love love reading ur blog! =)

    waifong

    September 7, 2009 at 7:13 pm

  2. just go with the heart :)?
    no need for a map, forever, i’ll take you there :)

    ABBY

    September 8, 2009 at 3:42 am

  3. Love is not everything.

    Rin

    September 8, 2009 at 11:51 am

  4. i really think u’re good at expressing things in ur very own way. =)

    huiying

    September 8, 2009 at 2:11 pm

  5. For me, the happier I feel, the more fearful I get, what if I lost it somehow?? I’m totally with you on nothing is forever. And as we grow older, its evidently that LOVE is not enough to keep 2 person together.

    Kris

    September 8, 2009 at 2:19 pm

  6. Peggy, i simply can’t agree more with you.

    Rina

    September 8, 2009 at 2:42 pm

  7. :)

    sixpegs

    September 8, 2009 at 4:07 pm

  8. totally love this entry.
    for i dun really believe in forever.
    otherwise, why am i with a 3rd bf?

    siaowen

    September 10, 2009 at 1:00 am

  9. Hi there, I stumbled upon your blog and have been following it, many thanks for the blogshop intro.

    I’m married but I dun believe in Forever too. Right from day one when i started dating the now-hubby, there was never a forever. haha..so you are NOT cynical! Nothing wrong with not believing. For me, its a matter of living each day, focus on the good, and press on! We dun live forever too..hehe

    So happy for you and buttons, sooooo sweet. :P and all the best for your last sem! Cheers!

    Fluorine

    September 10, 2009 at 11:17 am

  10. Eh siao eh how about FRIENDS FOREVER! :) hanger and Pegs haha ;) cheers ~

    alvinleong

    September 10, 2009 at 1:41 pm

  11. haha! coincidentally, i was blogging somewhat about the same content about a month ago after i caught the rerun of closer on channel 5, quoting lines from the show:

    Dan: I fell in love with her, Alice.
    Alice: Oh, as if you had no choice? There’s a moment, there’s always a moment, “I can do this, I can give into this, or I can resist it”, and I don’t know when your moment was, but I bet you there was one.

    and i think it rang alot of truth!
    what talkshow was that, pegs?

    rain

    September 13, 2009 at 8:41 pm

    • omg that’s from CLOSER!
      i love that movie! :p
      i watched Quan Yi Feng’s 女人我最大 or something.
      I’m not sure about the title of that talkshow but it was something along that line. :)

      sixpegs

      September 14, 2009 at 11:10 am

  12. im reading this again ;p
    i really love this post :)

    ABBY

    September 26, 2009 at 6:37 am

    • hey abby, that’s nice of you.
      i’m really glad you enjoyed this entry! :)

      sixpegs

      September 26, 2009 at 11:47 am


Leave a Reply

