s i x p e g s

fashion, music, fun, love and everything about my life.

Tonight I can write the saddest lines

with 12 comments

Tonight I can write the saddest lines
by Pablo Neruda

Tonight I can write the saddest lines.

Write, for example,’The night is shattered
and the blue stars shiver in the distance.’

The night wind revolves in the sky and sings.

Tonight I can write the saddest lines.
I loved her, and sometimes she loved me too.

Through nights like this one I held her in my arms
I kissed her again and again under the endless sky.

She loved me sometimes, and I loved her too.
How could one not have loved her great still eyes.

Tonight I can write the saddest lines.
To think that I do not have her. To feel that I have lost her.

To hear the immense night, still more immense without her.
And the verse falls to the soul like dew to the pasture.

What does it matter that my love could not keep her.
The night is shattered and she is not with me.

This is all. In the distance someone is singing. In the distance.
My soul is not satisfied that it has lost her.

My sight searches for her as though to go to her.
My heart looks for her, and she is not with me.

The same night whitening the same trees.
We, of that time, are no longer the same.

I no longer love her, that’s certain, but how I loved her.
My voice tried to find the wind to touch her hearing.

Another’s. She will be another’s. Like my kisses before.
Her voice. Her bright body. Her infinite eyes.

I no longer love her, that’s certain, but maybe I love her.
Love is so short, forgetting is so long.

Because through nights like this one I held her in my arms
my soul is not satisfied that it has lost her.

Though this be the last pain that she makes me suffer
and these the last verses that I write for her.

xxx

Someone read this poem to me once.
And I fell in love with it the moment I hear it.
There are no bombastic words, no majestic and grand settings,
just a very simple but heart wrenching description of
how a broken heart will feel.

Do you like it too?

I really am doing fine.
As firm and determined as how the poet feel
when he wrote the ending of the poem.
But of course, I think Shaowei and I are happier people though.
I know we’re mature adults and we’ll be able to deal with it well.
He has always been rational.
And we always know each other well.
He is still my best friend.

“Love is so short, forgetting is so long”
This has got to be my favorite line.
Actually, it’s good to feel emotional sometimes.
And it mostly happens at night when we’re all alone.
But I know I’ll never be alone though.
There are a lot of people who cares for me.
Seriously, i’m just blabbering on and on tonight.
Somehow, I always thought that it’s nice to rant on my blog.
It feels like I’m talking to myself,
but instead I’m actually talking to thousands of strangers.
And I really liked the idea.

Everyone has had this feeling before I think.
So they would know how I feel.
That emptiness one would experience at night.
Oh well. I think I need a lifestyle overhaul!

Anyway, I received the Blackbird, Fly camera today.
And it is really pretty!
I’d be trotting around with it tomorrow,
and hopefully I get some really cute pictures.
I’ll be out about town for a photoshoot with my friends tomorrow.
It’ll last through the night from 7pm until 10am.
Honestly, I can wait no more!
Although I know I’m gonna be super tired at the end of the shoot,
but I think it’ll be a really cool idea.
What a way to usher in the Valentines’ Day this year, isn’t it?

I hope I didn’t dampen the Valentines’ Day mood this year
with such a soppy poem.
Oh by the way, I really love sad poems.
I think they are always nicer than those happy poems.

Happy Valentines’ Day to everybody out there.
May you find your true love soon.
Regardless of him being Mr Right or Mr Right Now,
ENJOY BEING LOVED!

:)

Goodnight.
Remember to hang around for more updates on Featured Blogshops!
Coming right up!

Written by SIXPEGS

February 12, 2009 at 11:24 pm

Posted in Likes.

12 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Nice Poem indeed, “Love is so short, forgetting is so long” is so true
    ~~ Thanks for sharing…

    Kel

    February 13, 2009 at 9:06 am

  2. You look good in that Ah Zhong Mian Xian photo below. (:

    Take your time to heal your heart.

    Jiayin

    February 13, 2009 at 10:27 am

  3. you’re welcome kel. i love that line too.

    jiayin, i thought i look quite bad in that picture. haha.
    i looked hungry there. haha! but thanks.

    sixpegs

    February 13, 2009 at 11:15 am

  4. as i read through the poem, my fav line is that one too cos it is just so true.

    take good care. you are a nice girl, you will find your happiness. :)

    eeliise

    February 13, 2009 at 2:38 pm

  5. thank you eeliise.
    :)

    sixpegs

    February 13, 2009 at 4:32 pm

  6. hi peggy, been reading ur blog & i like it!
    u’re an interesting gal.. i like u too ;)

    i always believe, it’s all abt timing, u’ll have the right guy when the right time comes.

    wish we could share more abt our lifes..

    cheers!!

    sesamee

    February 14, 2009 at 6:56 pm

  7. you are finally back from taiwan! don’t emo nemo too long k? i mean, i love sad songs and poems and all (misery loves company), but it’s bad for the heart. catch up soon babe. :)

    melody

    February 16, 2009 at 12:19 am

  8. thank you sesamee. :)

    melody, yea i’m finally home already. i won’t be emo for too long yea? it comes and goes. you shall be my emo partner. but please try to make sure we’ll be happy most of the time. catch up soon!

    sixpegs

    February 16, 2009 at 12:53 pm

  9. thank you very much for sharing this … i reread this entry about ten times …

    xin

    February 17, 2009 at 12:50 am

  10. :) glad you liked it xin.

    sixpegs

    February 18, 2009 at 1:25 am

  11. Dear Peggy,

    The nights are the best to live thru memoirs… My fav line : “My soul is not satisfied that it has lost her.”
    Nothing beats the tearing of your soul… Nothing can compensate that kind of pain…

    Johnny

    January 15, 2010 at 2:34 pm

  12. My soul is not satisfied that it has lost her. Nothing beats the hurt a soul suffer…

    Johnny

    January 15, 2010 at 2:41 pm


Leave a Reply

