s i x p e g s

fashion, music, fun, love and everything about my life.

Taiwan Trip

with 38 comments

I’m sorry I’ve disappeared for quite a long while.
I’ve been busy.
Busy with school, busy with friends, busy nursing my little broken soul.
I just got back from Taiwan yesterday.
It was a trip with Shaowei and miraculously,
Aiyolove booked the exact same flight!
And we were housing in the same hotel too.

What are the chances right?

It is really nice to have Weifu and her company on the trip! :)

The 5 days Taipei trip was planned a couple months ago.
And although I only brought S$250 there,
I enjoyed myself very much.
I love the food there! BIG TIME.
I ate so much I think I’ve piled on a couple pounds already.

I wasn’t really prepared for the weather there.
And it was really quite chilly in Taiwan now.
Rather wet and humid. Approximately 18 to 20 degrees.c daily.
I went there foolishly with only a shawl and
had to end up buying ugly looking jackets from Taipei.
And they are frigging thick!
I don’t know how I’m gonna wear them here.
(T_T)
We lived in 西门 area and it is a really busy area.
Lots of young people there and funky shops too!
I really loved this trip because we’ve traveled to different parts of Taipei,
and experienced the difference in the city and suburban areas.

My favourite, however, has got to be 淡水!
We got there on 元宵节 and the atmosphere there was terrific.
There are lots of street performers there.
And the entire coastline was littered with
hawkers selling delicious Taiwanese snacks.
It was a pity though, that we didn’t get to take a boat over to 愚人码头.
There is supposedly an 爱人桥 there, and the sunset view on it is allegedly superb.

Here’s a picture of the sunset I’ve captured.
Trust me, it’s so much better in real life :)

There are people selling 天灯 at that area too.
One is supposed to write one’s wishes on it, and let it fly up to the heavens.
It is such a nice and idea, isn’t it?
I cannot describe how much I love the mood at 淡水.
Families everywhere.
Lovely couples everywhere.
I actually teared when I heard one of street performers sang “哭砂”.
Have you heard that song before?

你是我最苦澀的等待   
讓我歡喜又害怕未來   

你最愛說你是一顆塵埃   
偶而會惡作劇的飄進我眼裡   

寧願我哭泣   
不讓我愛你   
你就真的像塵埃消失在風裡   

你是我最痛苦的抉擇   
為何你從不放棄漂泊   

海對你是那麼難分難捨   
你總是帶回滿口袋的沙給我   

難得來看我   
卻又離開我   
讓那手中瀉落的沙像淚水流   

風吹來的沙   
落在悲傷的眼裡   
誰都看出我在等你   

風吹來的沙   
堆積在心裡   
是誰也擦不去的痕跡   

風吹來的沙   
穿過所有的記憶   
誰都知道我在想你   

風吹來的沙   
冥冥在哭泣   
難道早就預言了分離

I managed to get in contact with an online friend who lives in Taiwan.
It was rather exciting, meeting him for the first time.
But he was a really good host and
brought Shaowei and me out for a great night out!
If you’re reading this, “Thanks, Sean!”

Anyway, I think I was the most horribly dressed in the club that night.
Very negative demonstration.
PLEASE dress up when you go partying in Taipei.
:p

Another few more random pictures from Taipei.
Little evidences that we’re been trotting around quite a bit.
:)

The Taipei trip has been a good break.
Although I went on a very tight budget
and didn’t manage to do much shopping,
it was fulfilling in many other ways.

There are a couple readers who asked me about Shaowei.
Actually, we broke up almost a month ago.
It happened shortly after he returned from India.

It has been quite some time already,
and I guess we’re both feeling better about it.
I know I’m not obliged to reveal too much details about it.
But whatever it is,
I sincerely thank all those who are truly concerned for us.
It wasn’t exactly an easy thing to do.
Friends and family may oppose to whatever we’ve done.
But I believe everyone has the right to pursue their happiness.
Afterall, nobody knows it better than us.
And in every relationship, it takes two to maintain.

I know it will never be easy,
especially to get over something that you’ve had for so many years.
It has somewhat became a part of you.
But if it’s time to go, we all have no choice but to learn to be braver.

I don’t know what more to say.
But I really know what I’m doing.
And nobody knows it better than myself.

Written by SIXPEGS

February 12, 2009 at 3:23 am

Posted in Travels

38 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. wish u and shaowei happy.

    Sophia

    February 12, 2009 at 5:12 am

  2. i think your readers could tell you were unhappy for the past month even though you didn’t mention what happened. be strong.

    j

    February 12, 2009 at 5:22 am

  3. I’ve been your silent reader and.. all i can say is stay strong girl!!!!!!

    Rinko

    February 12, 2009 at 11:21 am

  4. Hey peggy! We all love you! & you’re a strong girl! :D

    Flor

    February 12, 2009 at 2:16 pm

  5. Wei! Cheers up k!

    CookieBanana

    February 12, 2009 at 3:34 pm

  6. im a frequent reader of your blog :) take care gal!!!!!!!!!

    charlene

    February 12, 2009 at 4:55 pm

  7. 1 of my fav quotes say “happiness is not about holding on…it’s about letting go when needed”…i hope this brings u a little consolation somehow cos it’s always easier for an onlooker to say rather than carrying out the action itself as’ it’s never easy to mend a broken heart..:)

    nevertheless, like u said..u know what works best for urself…i guess no one other than the 2 persons in the relationship know best what works for them..:)

    belinda

    February 12, 2009 at 7:23 pm

  8. jiayou! =)

    nehneh

    February 12, 2009 at 10:09 pm

  9. nice camera!

    stan

    February 12, 2009 at 10:51 pm

  10. OH may i koe taiwan isit that cold till u nid to wear those thick jacket? coz i’m gg on 16.. i was abit worry abt e weather.. sorry for asking.. BTW.. U ARE A STRONG GER… if it were mi i don koe hw will i be able to take it.. JIA YOU!!

    JOJO

    February 12, 2009 at 11:13 pm

  11. thanks to all who are concerned.
    :)
    thanks.

    JOJO, taiwan is really quite cold.
    And i cannot really take cold weather very well so i feel better under something warm. yup. remember to bring a thick jacket at least. :) better be safe than sorry.

    sixpegs

    February 12, 2009 at 11:29 pm

  12. hey peggy,

    i agree with u, could totally relate to what u are saying. its really never easy cos i’m in e same situation as u. like what others had said, stay strong and u still have ur girlfriends with u! (:

    ultimate

    February 12, 2009 at 11:40 pm

  13. guess we both share the same fate. broke up with the other half 1.5 months ago. i totally understand how u r feeling cos we’ve been tog for almost 8 yrs. Be strong and Jia You!!

    Shin

    February 12, 2009 at 11:46 pm

  14. think im one of the few guys who have read ur blog. stay strong gal..im sure u wil b alright and u will emerge even stronger.. =) stand by u all the way

    Ozy

    February 13, 2009 at 12:18 am

  15. thanks ultimate. i know i’ll always have my girlfriends around.
    they love me. and i know they will always stand by me.

    shin, 8 years. i bet you’re having a harder time than me.
    i hope you’re doing fine too, shin.

    ozy, rare guest from mars. thanks for reading.

    sixpegs

    February 13, 2009 at 2:48 am

  16. pegs. this most made me teared abit.. esp when u said it take two to maintain (a relationship), i understand that … reminds me n my bf blabbering, quarrell, shouting here and there (im the one mostly :( )..

    a relationship really takes 2 hands to clap. i guess shaowei have been way too long in indian eating curry. not to joke now. but every woman needs to be heard, need companionship, need to be cared for and tendered at.

    i guess i might forgot how to love a person after 6 months of ‘seperation’… :(

    Am reading Mar & Venus Together Forever. It sort of open up me about problems with the men and women nowadays. i hope u would like to read it too?

    To let you have a better understanding of urself and him too. :)

    Cheers my girl, you rock.. always have been!

    Rin

    February 13, 2009 at 11:13 am

  17. *this post

    Rin

    February 13, 2009 at 11:15 am

  18. Hey gal, U sure of wad u are doing and I’m sure u will be better!! Juz live you life well and enjoy every moments spend with your love ones coz nobody will know what will happen in the future!! I believe both of U will cope well with this and live well.. :)

    g!ne

    February 13, 2009 at 1:21 pm

  19. hey shiyuan,
    thanks so much for your message for me.
    i’ve got that mars and venus book. but mine focuses more on the differences between the sexes though. but whatever it is, thanks for sharing with me.
    and i’m sorry i made you tear. i guess things aren’t always smooth for every relationship.
    but i’m sure you and weizhong will be fine lah! haha. don’t be so mean to him all the time. haha. :)
    thanks again.

    g!ne, hello it’s you again. i remember your nickname.
    we’re coping well i think. and i surely hope he’s fine too.
    we’ll be kept busy with school and work. and soon will fly by without us noticing.
    :)
    we’re strong kids. :p
    thanks g!ne.

    sixpegs

    February 13, 2009 at 4:34 pm

  20. yeah, i guess it was apparent to ur readers that u aint exactly urself
    ur posts reflect ur emotions, u know?
    i totally understand the fact that… blogging makes u feel like u’re bladdering to yourself
    yet in reality thousands others are reading.
    i kinda like that too.
    cont to bladder urself out, and i’m sure ur readers will continue to shower u with love.

    take care. things will be better soon. : )

    siaowen

    February 13, 2009 at 5:03 pm

  21. I tried the Ah Zong Man Xian too ! At Xi Men Ding right, it tastes great compared to others in taiwan!

    x i n n i

    February 13, 2009 at 8:22 pm

  22. hey peggy,

    great to see you blogging again :) hope everything’s all well for you for now :)

    stephanie

    February 14, 2009 at 3:09 am

  23. it takes alot of strength to make such a decision. and maturity. happy for you :)
    and i wish the both of you the very best..

    sue

    February 14, 2009 at 3:28 am

  24. sean looks quite cute! :P

    juz2bsure

    February 14, 2009 at 8:44 am

  25. thanks so much siaowen, stephanie and sue.

    xinni, yes the mian xiao tasted like heaven. GOD SENT!

    juz2bsure, yes sean is cute. haha. you can go find him and ask him to bring you around when you drop by taiwan. hehe!

    sixpegs

    February 15, 2009 at 6:07 am

  26. hi there

    i blogged alot about my broken relationship that ended 6mths ago. we were together for 6 yrs and durin my 2nd long distance trip to shanghai, we collapsed as a couple. im shock that u have the courage to meet him and travel for holidays together aftermath. i dont, and neither am i willing to see him again.

    i wrote alot in the months of aug-dec 08 about my grieving period. im happier today and managed to go out with a single guy yesterday. it may sound cliche but indeed time heals wounds no doubt scars remain. we are strong women in today’s society.

    i have been supporting your blog for length of time now, and truly you are gorgeous in and out no mater what setbacks u face from now on, u will and have grown from it.

    http://eletrode.multiply.com/

    tricia

    February 15, 2009 at 3:14 pm

  27. Hey, everything is going to be fine.
    Take great care of yourself.
    I don’t want to say i know how u must be feeling now, i’m not you,
    the beautiful memories you two shared, i can never relate to.
    Still, be strong, your girlfriends will be through to pick you up when you fall,
    to lend you a shoulder when u feel like crying.
    And we will all see you through :)

    charleneyl

    February 15, 2009 at 4:33 pm

  28. peg, i have been ur avid reader…. i teared when i read this entry….
    Stay strong, all of us are with you and ur lovely gfs too :) jia you !!

    ying

    February 16, 2009 at 9:52 am

  29. hey tricia, i’m sorry to hear about your previous relationship.
    and i’m very glad for you too, that you’ve managed to foster enough courage to start seeing another person. time heals indeed. and i hope it’ll only get better for you from now on. thanks for your message for me.

    charleneyl, thanks. true that my girlfriends will always be there for me.
    i know they will love me the same no matter what happens.
    i get thrown back into sadness everytime i read these comments you people post.
    but oh well, i know if that one fine day comes when i don’t feel a thing anymore,
    i’ve truly recovered and survived it.
    i shall await the arrival of that day.

    ying, sorry to have made you tear. i’ll be strong.
    :)

    sixpegs

    February 16, 2009 at 1:01 pm

  30. Hey peggy,
    i broke off wif my bf last june jus mths b4 our BIG Day. Was reli tough but i have braved thru n i m sure u can.. M lucky to hav many frens ard me to help me pull thru.. Time is the best medicine.. take care!!

    ger

    February 16, 2009 at 8:53 pm

  31. Hello babe!
    Do you know about this online blogshop?
    They are selling really gorgeous stuff, heh you should featured them under your featured blogshops recommendations.The website is: http://vaingloriousyou.livejournal.com/ !!
    Hohoho, yep hollyhoque sells really great stuff! i personally know sheila, the blogshop owner! She’s a really friendly person! :D

    Loves!

    chipmunks

    February 16, 2009 at 10:15 pm

  32. ger, im so sad to hear about it. :( you ARE really very brave. it must have been a terrible time for you BUT. KEEP LOOKING FORWARD my girl!

    thanks chipmunks. i know tricia too.

    sixpegs

    February 18, 2009 at 1:26 am

  33. I m sure we CAN make it.. *huggies*

    ger

    February 20, 2009 at 7:23 pm

  34. Mom, be strong.

    Love yourself more, it’s more important :*)

    Spider daughter

    February 25, 2009 at 6:13 am

  35. thanks ger.

    and my dear spider daughter tricia. :)

    sixpegs

    February 26, 2009 at 3:34 am

  36. I guess I really admire that you could go on a trip with him and not be all teary eyed esp with all the residual feelings and all.. Let alone, still be friends. Sometimes, it’s not easy being with friends with an ex but you’ve done it.

    I am all too familiar with that empty feeling.

    shu

    May 4, 2009 at 5:21 am

  37. hey shuhui, i’m familiar with that empty feeling too.
    and it wasn’t really easy for me at certain points in time when i was there as well.
    just got to be mentally strong sometimes i think.
    but honestly, i think shaowei is even stronger than myself.
    and when i was there, i got a little teary eyed as well.
    but sigh now that it’s all over, we can only look forward and live our lives well separately.
    be strong my girl.
    the worse won’t stay for too long ok?
    *hugs*

    sixpegs

    May 4, 2009 at 8:37 am

  38. Hi Peg, im trying hard to overcome what you had been through. My 7 years of relationship just ended and It’s really hard for me to cope. I’m been weeping every now and then. Im feeling like an empty shell…..

    D

    May 10, 2009 at 3:49 pm


Leave a Reply

