s i x p e g s

fashion, music, fun, love and everything about my life.

Woof Woof!

with 31 comments

I went Zouk for a little while on Friday night.
Was really just idling here and there.
Pretty enjoyable though, seeing a few familiar faces here and there.
:)
Got the company of Michelle! Hee.
Saw Rachel and Victoria there too :)
Alright, after thinking for so long.
And with quite a few people asking me for the password,
I think I might as well just reveal it lah!

I bought a little puppy.
I have been wanting to get a puppy for a long time.
And although I know it’s going to be time-consuming
and extremely costly to keep a puppy,
I’ve decided to go ahead with it!
With miumiu’s support too of course!

Her name is Maliboo.
And she is really smart because in just two days at my place,
she is already paper-trained!
Her skin isn’t really good though, sadly.
When I just brought her home, she got really long fur.
And got dried skin flakes on her fur.
I did some research and it might be some kinda mites.
:(
I didn’t know how to trim her fur, so I brought her for a trim.

I think she has never been bathed before since birth.
And has been eating low quality dog food (Alpo) too.
:(

But I guess it was her first time at trimming and she was terrified.
I cried when I saw her watery eyes!
(T__T)

Turned out that the poor girl for a few bald spots all over her.
I got worried and brought her to the vet.

Fortunately, the vet said that she didn’t have mites on her.
But she got some infection on her skin which will aggravate if left unattended.
Got her medicated shampoo and lotion.
Ear drips for her slightly infected ears.
She really didn’t come to be in good condition.

From the moment I saw her, I could feel the connection in her soulful eyes.
And bought her despite her ninja black black face.
LOL.

She might not be the prettiest dog around,
and probably look somewhat like an old man,
but I will make sure she is loved!

THAT’S MY MALIBOO!

She is still scratching but I hope her skin will get well really soon!

Written by SIXPEGS

June 22, 2008 at 1:21 pm

Posted in Uncategorized

31 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. MALIBOO IS SO CUTE! *kidnaps maliboo*

    Karin

    June 22, 2008 at 4:24 pm

  2. Hey!!

    Saw you at zouk on friday! Looking good girl :)

    Your reader

    June 22, 2008 at 4:43 pm

  3. hello peggy !
    how old is ur baby?
    she looks adorable !
    how much did u bought it for ?
    i just bought a puppy not long ago too !
    he is a shih tzu named pupu :D
    my dear pupu was sick too – ear infection :S
    maybe our pets can make friends :)

    caleeen

    June 22, 2008 at 5:05 pm

  4. congrats!
    she’s a really adorable dog. hehe.
    lotsa love to maliboo! i hope she gets better from her skin infection :/

    lit

    June 22, 2008 at 5:44 pm

  5. a puppy! dog’s a man’s best friend! :) yea, it’s unfortunate that the previous owners/shopkeeper didn’t take good care of her but just stick to the doc’s prescriptions and im sure she’ll be all fine and well soon. can see that she’s already bringing you a bundle of joy lol, haha.

    be sure to bring her to sentosa beaches when she’s older and well. dogs adore the beach and she gets to meet new friends too! :)

    blisschic

    June 22, 2008 at 7:39 pm

  6. where did u get her from babe? She’s such a poor little gal… =(

    Justina

    June 22, 2008 at 8:14 pm

  7. oh! i wanted to get a puppy for the longest time too! :) glad u have your dream fulfilled~ Maliboo is really cute and may she bring you lots of laughter n joy… cheers!

    shan

    June 22, 2008 at 8:41 pm

  8. Hey, just wana say ur puppy is really cute..
    And i think her eyes just melt me..

    Dont worry too much, puppy tends to get easily ill at first…she will get well soon!

    Update more abt her okie!

    shannie

    June 22, 2008 at 9:55 pm

  9. Ooooooooooo!!!! Cute!!!
    I don’t know why, but I’m drawn to dogs with “black” faces.

    rR

    June 22, 2008 at 9:57 pm

  10. she looks vulnerable! reminds me of furby in a weird way!

    debraaa

    June 22, 2008 at 10:59 pm

  11. oooh!
    tt’s so nice of u! in a sense, pple normally buy those pretty pretty catties or doggies… but u bought one which u felt some kind of ‘connection’ with…
    hope maliboo feels better soon!

    -siaowen-

    June 22, 2008 at 11:05 pm

  12. i’ve got a shitzu for 8 yrs alr. had flaky skin too. best to stay away from chicken, cesar and pedigree food. makes them scratch, ALOT.

    :)

    Tiffy

    June 22, 2008 at 11:23 pm

  13. My puppy, Dee Dee has a similiar condition and on long term medication. Vet said its because of some skin hereditary passed on from her dad :(
    After one month of med, getting better. Still combs her fur bcos of the dry flakes stuffs.

    Cara

    June 23, 2008 at 12:10 am

  14. haha, is she pulling the blanket off ur bro? so cute lahhhh!!!

    i like the pic of her curling up on the floor, so cute! and ya, she really very small size.

    and i stil prefer “1-eyed musketeer”. hahaha! =)

    . joey (ho) ³ .

    June 23, 2008 at 12:24 am

  15. I was told to let Maliboo stay away from chicken too!
    Now she’s having fish! And I’m gonna get her to try lamb also. a bit of both. Is it okay?
    I hope her skin condition is not hereditary.
    :(

    sixpegs

    June 23, 2008 at 3:07 am

  16. i think you should introduce lamb a little later when she is better.

    mine was bad till the vet put him on egg white and rice diet. it was so cute cos he actually loved it. slowly after that, it was just boiled veggie and carrots wit his dried food. and now just dried food.

    of cos still continue wit the medicated shampoo and cream! don worry dear, she’ll be all fine soon!

    Tiffy

    June 23, 2008 at 9:15 am

  17. Maliboo is so cute! I just gotten myself a Husky despite of having another dog at home. Its time consuming & needs alot of attention. But they can be very fun to be around with too =)

    I’ve read up that dry dog food is actually not good for dogs & will shorten their live span due to preservatives. Hence now I’m giving them cooked minced carrot with chicken (w/o seasoning) mixed with rice. In a way, this is so much cheaper compared to buying dog food off the rack. And I’ve gotten dog biscuits recipes off the web where i can make some for them as treats.

    Actually there are alot of things to learn.

    Have fun being a “mummy” ;p

    aly

    June 23, 2008 at 9:24 am

  18. Cuteness!!!! I wanna make friends with Maliboo….wahaha

    Yes best to stay away from chicken for dogs with skin problems as they somehow make them itch very badly…in my opinion, dogs should just stay away from all salty food..and dun give them human chocolates(read: deadly to dogs) but its okay to give them dog choco treats sometimes….

    Have fun!!! next time when she grows bigger, I’ll intro her my big dog hahaha…

    peI

    June 23, 2008 at 9:52 am

  19. Maliboo is definitely adorable, do take care of her well! :) Mine is a lovely cross between Dachshund and Chihuahua ;)

    Kessie

    June 23, 2008 at 10:06 am

  20. What a cute dog..haha..hope it presense will brighten your life…haha..

    Devil

    June 23, 2008 at 11:28 am

  21. Maliboo has got those large endearing eye that make it look really lovable.

    I’ve a cairn terrier, YoYo which used to have patchy fur, itchy and flaky skin.

    Yeah, avoid chicken and poultry as it is an allergen that cause itchiness in some dogs. Eggs are fine though.

    I personally feel dog food isn’t that healthy, somewhat like maggi mee for dogs, convenient but highly processed with all the preservatives.

    Been feeding YoYo with brown rice, fish, carrots, broccoli and it really helps. YoYo has regained an even coat of fur and the itching has subsided. Quite troublesome having to cook every morning for her to eat, but the effort is worth it!

    Spend more time with Maliboo while it is a puppy. Very soon, you will miss the days when it’s small.

    Matthias

    June 23, 2008 at 12:03 pm

  22. sick dogs can’t eat chicken? omg is that why my dog died?! babe i didn’t know she had the skin infection, poor girlie… take care!

    melody

    June 23, 2008 at 4:05 pm

  23. hihi! (: been a silent reader for some time alrdy was from ur jc too! one yr younger tho!

    my dog pickles just had a hair trim by my daddy yest! nw he looks like ah ahpeh doggie haaa got the old face nwnwnw

    maybe its the weather tts bothering ur lil pup and causing it to scratch n itch.

    becareful when u mop the floor as i heard from pickles’s groomer tt if u did not mop up the floor once again to get rid of the original floor cleaner, its residue may still b arnd and cause pets with sensitive skin to itch

    becareful of ants arnd the hse too! ant bites r v itchy and painful to doggies! they may have an allergic reaction tt will cause swelling and thus they will pick at the part of the bite and lick it til tt part becomes a botak spot! (:

    u shld try giving it eggs! yummy~! :D

    n start teaching maliboo all sort of tricks! arm urself with a pack of lil biscuit for rewards!

    jiayou!

    lingyu

    June 23, 2008 at 6:20 pm

  24. try feeding dog food that contains fish or duck. like, the brand natural balance or addiction. okay, addiction doesn`t contain duck nor fish, but its not bad lah. expensive, but i always recommend that to customers when i was an assistant groomer back then! and maliboo is adorable!

    remy

    June 23, 2008 at 6:29 pm

  25. I’m feeding Maliboo fish now! Just now I made her hard boiled egg white and boiled tofu mixed with her fish kibbles. And she seem to love it! Except that she finished all the tofu and egg ebfore reluctantly eating the kibbles! =_=

    She does know how to fetch things now! But doesn’t know how to drop it in front of me still. She just grab it and FLIES to her bed. HAHAHA!

    I think her skin is getting better because the flakes are not so much already. Still scratching a little though! She is so skinny! I can feel her ribs when I hold her, so my aim is to make sure she got good food to eat until she grows bigger! :) I hope I don’t spoil her though!

    She loves to sleep with me. Last night I brought her bed out of my room, and she scratched on my door and whined until I opened my door for her! Naughty little Maliboo!

    Melody, I think its not that chicken bad for sick dogs. I think a lot of dogs are allergic to chicken? And probably its bad for dogs with skin problems. Correct me if I’m wrong.

    AND NICE TO SEE SO MANY PEEPS WITH FURKIDS HERE! :D

    sixpegs

    June 23, 2008 at 7:18 pm

  26. hi peggy,

    i saw u on fri nite @ zouk! u looked great as usual =)

    anyway, my bf adopted a Miniature Pinscher abt 6 mths ago and we did some research on dog’s diet. it’s true that most dogs are allergic to chicken, and chicken doesnt really benefit them.

    our dog is prone to diarrhoea and the vet recommended pork and fish instead.. and my dog loves fish. the vet also said chicken will cause skin problems.

    hope this helps! =)

    yun

    June 23, 2008 at 8:33 pm

  27. hmm, i heard that shih tzu breed are sensitive to chicken and eggs that may leads to skin problems!
    and for ur maliboo, it is important to maintain it colour coat when it is young! the pet shop owner told me that eating beef or lamb can help maintaining the colour of puppys !

    caleeen

    June 23, 2008 at 11:36 pm

  28. Oh yes.. and NO CHICKEN!! Now she’s only having beef and rice.. and beef and rice (poor thing) Kept eating the same stuffs. She’s picky so thats all she wanted to eat ..for now

    Cara

    June 23, 2008 at 11:49 pm

  29. Oh and buy FISH OIL for her… add this into her food.It works… vet told me. However, mine slightly different as after blood test is becos of her DAD!!! so no choice, we did everything and plus long term medication *sob

    Cara

    June 23, 2008 at 11:51 pm

  30. EGGS CANNOT?!

    I read somewhere that chicken cannot but eggs can. FUCK. I think I’ll stop giving her eggs then. You sure about the eggs part? Maliboo didn’t go for blood test so I’m not sure too. But her flakings kinda stopped already! That’s really good news! Where to get fish oil? She can eat since young?
    Beef or lamb better?

    sixpegs

    June 24, 2008 at 12:07 am

  31. HELLO MALIBOO!!!

    i wanna hugs uuu!!! AHHHH!!!

    okies, am going crazy!!! hahahs!

    pegs! u gotta be a good mama to her! =)

    —> catch ‘you don;t mess with the Zohan’ & ‘kungfu panda’…..

    and… for her diet.. did u miss out Pork? i aint sure if Pork will do help for her skin. but.. am just adding in an option for you to look out for.. =)

    *CHEERS*

    Shiyuan

    June 24, 2008 at 5:55 pm


Leave a Reply

